Nine athletes are honored on the court, while 24 make Metro League All-Academic.

STAFF PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Glencoe's Izzy Womack goes up for a shot against Liberty's Clara Robbins. Both were honored on the 2017-18 All-Metro League teams.In the wake of a handful of relatively successful seasons for some of the local area basketball teams, individuals from all four Hillsboro schools were honored by the Metro League and Northwest Oregon Conference for performance both on and off the court.

In the Metro League, there were four girls and one boy honored on the first three teams, while 24 kids were selected to the All-Academic Team.

On the girls side, Glencoe senior post Izzy Womack was a second-team selection and was joined on the list of honorees by third-team selections, guards, senior Ezinne Egbo and junior Morgan DeBord. In addition to the Crimson Tide standouts, Liberty sophomore post Clara Robbins was also a third-team selection for a Falcon team that — along with Glencoe — made it to the state tournament's opening round.

The first-team consisted of Southridge's senior guard Maggie Freeman, sophomore wing Cameron Brink and senior post Natalie Hoff, Beaverton sophomores Sydney Erikstrup and Mary Kay Naro, and Westview junior Kamryn Jones.

STAFF PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Liberty's Nathanael Boyer drives around a defender during a game earlier this year. Boyer was named to the All-Metro League Second Team.Freeman shared Player of the Year honors with her teammate, Brink, while Beaverton's Kathy Naro was selected as the Metro's Coach of the Year.

On the boys side, Liberty's Nathanael Boyer was the only Hillsboro player honored, being selected to the second-team after leading his team to the state playoffs, where they defeated Benson in the play-in round before losing to eventual state runner-up Jefferson in the first round.

All-Academic selections included boys: Glencoe's Dylan Brauer, Zach Cox, Sam Gerber, Matthew Hancock, Matthew Smith, and Dylan Walter; Liberty's Erwin Estocapio, Yousef Koborsi, and Samuel Schoch; and Century's Brayden Johnson, Shane Neal, and Josh Walkenhorst.

All-Academic girls selections included: Glencoe's Elizabeth Anderson, Jensen Becker, Morgan DeBord, Ezinne Egbo, Aisling Taylor, Breauna Van Dyke, Alyssa Vandehey, and Izzy Womack. Liberty's Maci Chase, Miranda Goodrum, Maliah Jobe, Emily Le, Ramsey McNabb, Nicole Robbins, Milica Simovic. And Century's Taylor Coleman-Lloyd, Sarah Gruber, Kess LaCounte, Janelle Maligaya, and Kayla Rueber.

In the NWOC, the Hillsboro girls had five Spartans honored, headlined by senior point guard Katherine Salas who was selected as a first-team honoree.

STAFF PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Hilhi's Katherine Salas drives in for a lay-in during a game earlier this season. Salas was a NWOC First Team selection this year.Salas was a key component to a Hilhi squad that finished third in the NWOC with a 9-5 league record and defeated Summit in the state playoffs' play-in round, before losing a hard-fought 34-31 battle with Central in first round action. Salas was a second-team honoree as a junior last season.

Joining Salas on the first-team was India Gultry of Milwauikie, Cydney Gutridge from Wilsonville, Maddie Holm from St. Helens, and Colby Jansen and Taycee Wedin from La Salle. Wedin was voted Player of the Year and her coach Kelli Wedin was the Coach of the Year.

In addition to Salas, senior forward Naomi Johnson and sophomore guard Kylie Fernstrom were second-team selections, while fellow sophomore McKenzie Staub was selected to the list of honorable mention.

On the boys side, Hilhi senior Quintin Thomas was the only Spartan honoree, earning second-team honors.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine