Hillsboro schools claim six baseball and six softball first-teamers on 2018 roster.

STAFF PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Century's Micky Thompson throws a pitch during a game earlier this season. Thompson was a first team all-league selection as both a pitcher and outfielder.
Metro League baseball and softball all-star selections are in.

In a year in which the Westview Wildcats baseball team dominated the league and ultimately the state, claiming a state championship with an 8-4 win over Clackamas in last weekend's state final, they not-so-surprisingly dominated the All-Metro selections too, claiming seven of the 18 first team spots and sweeping the Player and Coach of the Year awards. But, despite the Wildcats' dominance, Hillsboro represented, staking their own claim to six first team spots, four more second team positions, and six honorable mention.

Century, who finished third in the league and advanced to the playoffs' second round before losing by a run to the aforementioned Wildcats, had three first team honorees including juniors, infielder Justyn Herzog and Micky Thompson, the latter of which was recognized as both a pitcher and outfielder on the team. In addition, the Jaguars' Josh Grant and Ian Lawson were second team selections, while junior Blake Baccay was an honorable mention choice.

STAFF PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Glencoe's Izzy Womack hurls a pitch during a Tide game earlier this season. Womack shared the Metro League Player of the Year honor.Glencoe was represented by senior Nathan Sprenger who was a first team selection at catcher, while seniors Cole Hoskins and Sam Kirk were selected to the second team. In addition, Hoskins and his brother Jake were honorable mention selections, Cole on the mound, Jake in the infield, while Sprenger was also so honored as a pitcher.

Liberty had two first team selections, junior Bryan Bafaro as a utility player and senior Michaell Martinez Bastidas in the outfield. Falcon junior pitcher Ben Ineson was honorable mention.

Westview's Willie Weiss and Jhamante Woods shared the Player of the Year honor, while first-year and ex-Hillsboro High School head coach Matt Bailie was selected as the league Coach of the Year.

On the softball diamond, Glencoe understandably carried the bulk of the weight for the Hillsboro schools. The Crimson Tide, for the second consecutive year, finished tied atop the Metro League standings with co-champions Jesuit and Westview.

STAFF PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Liberty's Michaell Martinez Bastidas takes a cut during a Falcon game against Century earlier this season.
Womack led the way for the Tide, being named Pitcher of the Year, while Aloha's Emily E. Churchill and Westview's Kelsey Day were the co-Players of the Year. But Glencoe was also represented by four other first team selections, including seniors Ash Bailey and Taylor Butterfield, along with junior shortstop Morgan DeBord and fellow junior, centerfielder Jensen Becker, while Glencoe's Alivia Eastman was selected honorable mention.

Century junior shortstop Gavin Shafer was again selected to the first team, marking her second first team selection in as many years. Joining Shafer was Jaguar senior Brittney Bertrand who was voted to the second team, while freshman outfielder Hannah Hall was honorable mention.

Liberty was represented by freshman catcher Zoe Allen who was a second team selection, while junior Raegan Kirsop was honorable mention.

Sunset's Montana McNealy was honored with the Coach of the Year selection.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine