Forest Grove's Oscar Macias, Glencoe's Josh Richards and Tom Stephens chosen as Player, Coaches of the Year.

STAFF PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Forest Grove senior Oscar Macias was selected as the Pacific Conference Player of the Year.Pitch perfect.

Well, no one is perfect on the pitch, but some of our local high school soccer players earned near perfect marks on recent lists of all-league honorees.

Pacific Conference champion Glencoe's boys and girls were understandably well-represented, garnering 17 selections.

The Crimson Tide boys had five first-team honorees, including senior forwards Neil Zimmerly and Josue Hernandez-Davila, senior midfielder Bryan Mena, senior defender Chris Downey, and junior goalkeeper Oscar Flores Reyes. In addition, junior midfielder Kobe Garcia and junior defender Austin Milbrandt were second-teamers, while Sergio Tapia-Rodriguez and Jackson Vanderzanden were honorable mentions.

The Glencoe girls also boasted five first-teamers: senior forwards Sarah Mauk and Celeste Molina Sanchez, midfielder Matty Bullis, and defenders Michaela Kirschten and Erika Gonzales. Not to be forgotten were second-team juniors Rylee Fitzsimmons and goalkeeper Olivia Robinson. Fellow junior Riley Shaver was an honorable-mention selection.

STAFF PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Liberty's Ivette Garcia was a first-team All-Pacific Conference selection this season.
On the boys' side, Forest Grove equaled the Crimson Tide with nine overall selections, including the conference Player of the Year, Oscar Macias. The senior headlined a group of All-Stars consisting of first-teamers Pablo Dominguez, Ivan Torres and Alejandro Sanchez, while Juan Carlos Romero and Alan Rincon made the second team, and Antonio Cipriano, Jose Diaz and Marco Torres were honorable mentions.

Liberty had three first-teamers: Rudy Salinas, Eduardo Flores, and Jacob McDaniel; one second-teamer, Ian Bermudez; and two honorable mention selections, Chais Belcher and Evan Kupperman.

Century boasted two second-teamers — Angel Santana and Uriel Rodriguez — and three honorable-mention selections: Juan Zarate, Uriel Escalera and Antonio Garcia Rubio.

On the girls' side, Forest Grove, which finished third in the conference standings along with Century, matched Glencoe with eight honorees.

The Vikings had two second-team selections — seniors Shelby Williams and Madelyn Wallner — while they had six girls chose as honorable mentions: senior Sophie Davis, junior Abigail Pantoja, freshman Makaila Takahashi, junior Alivia Glynn, sophomore Mirella Garcia and senior goalkeeper Hailey Peterson.

The Jaguars had two first-teamers — senior Kaitlyn Springer and sophomore Ella Smith — and six honorable mentions: Olivia Lyda, Briann Heatherington, Jasmine Seago, Hannah Hall, Sarah Bayne and Abby Frazier.

Liberty was led by first-team junior midfielder Ivette Garcia, but also was recognized with three second-team selections, for Amelia Pua, Maliah Jobe and Clara Robbins, and two honorable mention honorees, Amanda Houghton and Kiara Medina.

Sherwood's Loma McNeese was selected as the conference Player of the Year, while Glencoe's Josh Richards was honored as the Coach of the Year.

Glencoe's Tom Stephens was selected as the boys' Coach of the Year.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine