The Crimson Tide senior is selected Player of the Year and co-Defensive Player of the Year.

PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Glencoe's Morgan DeBord during a game earlier this season. DeBord was selected as the Pacific Conference Player and co-Defensive Player of the Year.The Pacific Conference announced its list of boys and girls basketball all-stars this past Wednesday, Feb. 27, and Forest Grove and Hillsboro area schools were well-represented.

Atop the list of all-league honorees was Glencoe's Morgan DeBord who was selected as the conference's girl's Player of the Year, along with the conference co-Defensive Player of the Year, sharing the honor with Century's Amy Walkenhorst.

DeBord, a first team All-Pacific Conference volleyball player last fall, as well as a first-teamer on the softball diamond last spring, led the Crimson Tide to a 13-12 overall season and third place finish in the Pacific Conference. The senior — who's headed to Loyola Marymount to play softball next fall — said she was caught a little off guard by the recent honor, but appreciated it and was quick to attribute much of the award to the help from those around her.

"I was surprised for sure," DeBord said. "Being a 5-foot-3 guard and still getting the award is a huge honor and I'm very thankful for it. I definitely couldn't have done it without the support from my teammates, coaches and family."

Basketball would likely place third on the standout's list of sports behind softball and volleyball, but despite its backseat status, DeBord respects the game and more importantly, the teammates she was fortunate to have played with both this season and last.

"Basketball isn't my number one sport, but I enjoyed my time playing with a wonderful group of girls," said DeBord. "It's an intense, fast paced game and I wouldn't want to trade this last season for anything else. I'm glad I played and am so beyond proud of everything we have accomplished."

PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Forest Grove's Guy Littlefield goes up for a lay-in during a Vikings game earlier this season. Littlefield was a Pacific Conference first team all-league selection.Joining DeBord on the league's first team was Liberty's sophomore duo of Livia Knapp and Taylin Smith. The Falcons' guards helped lead Liberty to a share of the Pacific Conference regular season championship and a first round state playoff win over Westview before falling to Jesuit in the second round. In addition to the aforementioned, Century senior Janelle Maligaya, who led the Jaguars to the playoffs and first round win, McMinnville's Kylie Arzner, and Sherwood Aubrie Emmons rounded-out the first team.

The second team was comprised of Liberty junior post Clara Robbins, Century's Walkenhorst, Glencoe senior Breauna Van Dyke, Forest Grove's Emily Lester, McMinnville's Tori Fox, and Sherwood's Kaytlin Cooke.

In addition, Forest Grove's Amanda Rebsom and Ashlynn Dawson, Century's Gavyn Shafer, Glencoe's Brianna Ball, and Liberty's Maliah Jobe were honorable mention.

McMinnville's Sean Coste was named the Coach of the Year.

On the boys side, Forest Grove junior point guard Guy Littlefield was the only first team selection from the local contingent.

Littlefield led the Vikings to a 19-6 overall record, second place conference finish, and state playoff berth before being eliminated by West Linn in the first round. The junior averaged 16.3 points, 5.4 rebounds, and 3.8 assists per game, while shooting 46 percent from the field.

Joining Littlefield on the first team was Sherwood's Jamison Guerra and Braden Thorn, Newberg's Alex Jaczko and Jack Chlumak, and McMinnville's Luke Arzner.

Four local players garnered second team honors, including Forest Grove seniors Ayden Purcell and Adison Emerick, Century junior Jospin Mugisha, and Liberty senior E.J. Estocapio.

In addition, Century's Chance Sparks, Ikin Chan and sophomore Edy Essien; Forest Grove's Henry Tonges and Braden Hudgins; Liberty's Aidan Maloney and Trevor Walker; Along with Glencoe's Michael Janeway earned honorable mention.

Sherwood swept the individual awards, with junior Jamison Guerra selected as the Player of the Year, sophomore Asher Krauel as the Defensive Player of the Year, and head coach Rahim Tufts as the Coach of the Year.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine