Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Forest Grove, Liberty, and Hillsboro high school representatives all make the grade.

PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Forest Grove's Alejandro Sanchez during a Vikings game this past season. Sanchez, along with teammate Antonio Cipriano, was a 6A second team all-state selection.With another fun and exciting high school soccer season is now in the rearview mirror, the state's All-State teams were recently announced, and a handful of western Washington County boys and girls standouts more than made the grade.

Liberty's Jacob McDaniel led the way, earning first team honors in the 6A classification. McDaniel, who was selected as the Pacific Conference Player of the Year late last year, led the Falcons to a 12-2-2 overall record, league title and state playoff berth and a first-round win over Aloha before being eliminated by eventual state runner-up Summit.

Local second-teamers included Forest Grove junior forward Antonio Cipriano and senior defenseman Alejandro Sanchez. Both — like McDaniel — were Pacific Conference first-teamers, and both were key contributors to the Vikings' second straight trip to the state semifinals.

Forest Grove finished 13-3-2 overall, was second in the Pacific Conference and defeated David Douglas, Central Catholic and Centennial en route to their semifinal penalty kick loss to Summit.

Franklin's Vincent Rose was selected as the state's Player of the Year, while his coach, Ty Kovatch, was voted Coach of the Year after leading the Lightning to the state championship.

In the 5A classification, Hillsboro's senior goalie Pablo Mendoza Osornia was the Spartans' lone selection, earning second team honors. Mendoza twice earned first team All-NWOC honors while at Hillsboro.

Corvallis' Edgar Monroy was the State Player of the Year, while La Salle head coach Seth Altshuler was the Coach of the Year.

PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Liberty's Jacob McDaniel during a Falcons game this past season. McDaniel was a 6A first team all-state selection.On the girls side, Hillsboro had two honorees, with senior defenseman McKenzie Staub and junior midfielder Taliya Miyama earning second-team honors.

The Spartans finished with a 5-8-2 overall record and were 4-3 in Northwest Oregon Conference play, earning a fourth place finish and trip to the state playoffs, where they dropped a hard-fought 1-0 loss to No. 2-ranked Corvallis.

Wilsonville's Lindsey Antonson was the 5A State Player of the Year, while Crescent Valley's Blake Leamy was selected Coach of the Year.

Jesuit's Callan Harrington was the 6A State Player of the Year, while West Salem's Whitney Pitalo was the Coach of the Year.

The entire list of honorees can be seen below:



Player of the Year

Vincent Rose, Franklin

Coach of the Year

Ty Kovatch, Franklin

First Team

Pedro Calderon, Reynolds

Parker Dixon, South Eugene

Brandon Farfan, Clackamas

Simon Kidder, Summit

Andres Labate, West Salem

Jacob McDaniel, Liberty

Mo Mohamed, Cleveland

Vincent Rose, Franklin

Trevor Smith, Tigard

Julien Thuillier, Sunset

Gael Salas-Lara, Franklin

Second Team

Ian Cameron, Grant

Antonio Cipriano, Forest Grove

Caden Davis, Franklin

Nathan Gewant, Jesuit

Remington Grayson, Jesuit

Christopher Lambert, Lincoln

Alejandro Sanchez, Forest Grove

Kamdon Simmons, Summit

Rasheed Tarhuni, Tigard

Sergio Tinoco, Reynolds

Angel Vides, Reynolds

Khael Engleman, Summit


Player of the Year

Callan Harrington

Coach of the Year

Whitney Pitalo, West Salem

PMG PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Hillsboro High School's Taliya Miyama during a Spartans game this past season. Miyama, along with teammate McKenzie Staub, was a 5A second team all-state selection.First Team

Paige Alexander, West Salem

Macy Barhyte, Jesuit

Callan Harrington, Jesuit

Abi Hoffman, Barlow

Rachel Maness, Barlow

Jaiden McClellan, Jesuit

Loma McNeese, Sherwood

Nedya Sawan, Mountainside

Devyn Simmons, South Eugene

Cally Togiai, Tualatin

Sidney O'Billovich, Mountainside

Second Team

Emily Bachman, Lakeridge

Jill Brody, West Linn

Kaylie Brown, West Linn

Izzie Carrington, Mountainside

Molly Day, Summit

Ruby Donaghu, Grant

Morgen Fried, Sherwood

Cami Fulcher, West Linn

Ana Gorlach, Lincoln

Maddy Gross, West Linn

Fatima Jimenez, West Salem

Madisen Kramer, Centennial

Jillian Leroux, Sherwood

Stephanie Niebergall, Sunset

Sarah Rice, West Salem

Mikayla Topaum, Barlow

Chloe Unflat, Wilson

Mary Votava, Jesuit

Olivia Williams, Wilson



Player of the Year

Edgar Monroy, Corvallis

Coach of the Year

Seth Altshuler, La Salle

First Team

Javes Benitez, Ridgeview

Scott Gustafson, Ashland

Adam Landy, Wilsonville

Fabian Magana, Hood River Valley

Edgar Monroy, Corvallis

Wade Nichols, La Salle

Carlos Reyes-Aviles, South Albany

Noa Taylor, La Salle

Luke Strange, La Salle

Britton Ullan, Silverton

Eli Podrabsky, West Albany

PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Hillsboro's Pablo Mendoza Osornia during a Spartans game this past season. Mendoza was a 5A second team all-state selection.Second Team

Sam Blohn, Wilsonville

Jaydyn Budrow, Eagle Point

Caleb Burke, Willamette

Owen Byrnes, Redmond

Karter Cook, La Salle

Jonah Craig, Corvallis

Cory Garlinghouse, Silverton

Mattin Khoshzaban, Crescent Valley

Diodone Kilongo, North Salem

Ryan McCord, Wilsonville

Harper Neubeck, Churchill

Leo Urenda, Hood River Valley

Pablo Mendoza Osornia, Hillsboro

Andrew Wolotira, Pendleton


Player of the Year

Lindsey Antonson, Wilsonville

Coach of the Year

Blake Leamy, Crescent Valley

First Team

Marcella Allen, Corvallis

Lindsey Antonson, Wilsonville

Sophie Cleland, North Eugene

Kianna Ferris, Churchill

Jada Foster, Crescent Valley

Emmi Freeman, Churchill

Averi Hartford, Ridgeview

Claire Macy, Crescent Valley

Anna McClave, Crescent Valley

Araxi Tejeda-Martinez, Wilsonville

Peyton Dale, Crescent Valley

Second team

Sadie Benz, Ridgeview

Tessa Davidson, Scappoose

Nani Garcia, Willamette

Lauren Johnson, North Eugene

Emma Jones, Scappoose

Ally LaVassaur, Willamette

Bethany Marteeny, West Albany

Katelyn McDougal, Wilsonville

Taliya Miyama, Hillsboro

McKenzie Staub, Hillsboro

Heather Wright, Corvallis

Kendall Taylor, Wilsonville

Natalie Willoughby, Willamette

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework