Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Taylin Smith is one of 11 Hillsboro and Forest Grove players honored by the league.

PMG FILE PHOTO - Liberty's Taylin Smith was a first team All-Pacific Conference selection and Co-Player of the Year with McMinnville's Kylee Arzner.For the second consecutive year, Liberty's Taylin Smith was honored as the Pacific Conference's Girls Basketball Player of the Year.

The senior point guard was joined this season atop the list of honorees, sharing the award with McMinnville's senior guard Kylee Arzner who led the Grizzlies to a 14-1 overall record and undefeated league campaign en route to the regular season Pacific Conference title.

Rounding-out the first team conference all-stars were Sherwood freshman phenom Ava Heiden, McMinnville senior Jadie Elkins, and Forest Grove senior Amanda Rebsom, who was a first team selection and the Co-Defensive Player of the Year in 2020.

Heiden was honored as the league's Defensive Player of the Year, while McMinnville's Sean Coste earned Coach of the Year honors.

In all, 11 Hillsboro and Forest Grove area girls were honored, with Liberty, Forest Grove, Century and Glencoe all garnering three selections.

Sherwood — who finished second in the conference behind the Grizzlies — also tallied three honorees

The entire list of honorees can be seen below:

Player of the Year — Taylin Smith, Liberty; Kylee Arzner, McMinnville

Defensive Player of the Year — Ava Heiden, Sherwood

Coach of the Year — Sean Coste, McMinnville

PMG FILE PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Forest Grove's Amanda Rebsom fights for a rebound during a Vikings' game against Sherwood this past season. Rebsom was a first team All-Pacific Conference selection.First Team

Kylee Arzner, McMinnville

Ava Heiden, Sherwood

Taylin Smith, Liberty

Amanda Rebsom, Forest Grove

Jadie Elkins, McMinnville

Second Team

Bella Martinez, Glencoe

Ashley Kosmicki, Newberg

Mandie Jensen, Sherwood

Alli Stilp, Newberg

Lily Everson, Forest Grove

Katie McKinley, Century

Amara Harper, Liberty

Honorable Mention

Neveen Makboul, Century

Ally Hammond, Forest Grove

Skylar Baldonado, Glencoe

Jayda Lee, Glencoe

Olivia Kazlauskas, Century

Nesse Grenfell, Liberty

Joley Sproul, Sherwood

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top