Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Local boys and girls soccer stars honored by league as fall season comes to an end.

PMG PHOTO: JOHNATHAN HOUSE - Century's Sergio "Yahir" Varela during a game against Mountainside this past season. Varela was voted as the Pacific Conference's Player of the Year.With the victor comes the spoils.

The Century High School boys soccer team won a share of their first Pacific Conference title this past season and as a result one of their leaders, Sergio "Yahir" Varela, was honored as the league's Player of the Year.

In all, Century had four players — Varela, Kaleb McKinley, Sammy Byrne Amaya and Renato Beltran earn first-team recognition, another—Aedan Kerley — who was named second team, and four additional Jaguars — Alejandro Peterson, Cesar Gregorio, Skyler Wilcox and Luke Warddrip—who were honorable mention.

Century finished the season with an 8-3-3 overall record, tied with Glencoe atop the league standings, and advanced to the state playoffs before losing a 3-2 first-round matchup with Mountainside of the Metro League.

Glencoe too boasted a bevy of all-star selections, altogether garnering six all-league honorees.

Seniors Damian Palominos, Aiden Himes and Ruben Tapia-Rodriguez were all first-teamers, along with junior Christian Martinez Trejo, while junior Hector Venegas Rocha and senior Miguel Lopez earned second-team selections.

Additionally, four Glencoe players earned honorable mention, including sophomore Diego Alvarado Roldan, who Tide head coach Tom Stephens said excels in both the classroom and on the pitch.

"Diego is an awesome kid to coach," Stephens said late in the season. "He gives 100 percent every day in practice and makes everyone around him better. I am so excited that he will continue to be a leader for two more years in the program."

PMG PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Forest Grove junior Elise Broberg during a game against Ida B. Wells earlier this season. Broberg was a first team all-state player for the Vikings last season., Forest Grove News-Times - Sports Vikings soccer players Sophia and Elise Broberg are trouble for opposing teams on the pitch. Forest Grove sister actThe Crimson Tide finished 6-5-5 overall and advanced to the state playoffs' second round before losing a 5-3 contest to Lakeridge.

Sherwood placed six players on either the first or second teams, headlined by senior first-teamer forward Aidan Brouddus.

Additionally, Liberty's Cameron Barney and Damian Miranda earned first-team honors, and Forest Grove had two second-team selections, senior forward Bryan Rodriguez and freshman defender Fredy Martinez.

Century head coach Mike Wall was voted as the league's Coach of the Year.

On the girls side, league champion Sherwood's Ella Weathers was one of five Bowmen players — Jaclyn Barritt, Taylor Holt, Savannah Leahy and Grace Coston — who earned first-team honors, with Weathers taking home the league's Player of the Year award.

Weathers scored a team-leading 16 goals and added seven assists for a Bowmen team that finished 8-5-2 overall and went undefeated in league play before dropping a first-round playoff game to St. Mary's Academy.

In all, Sherwood had six all-league honorees, including second-teamer Lainee Derry and honorable mention goalkeeper Charlotte Overton, who Bowmen head coach Natasha Cohen said midway through the season was invaluable to the team in the net.

"She's done an incredible job and has made some incredible saves," Cohen said. "She's got a lot of tenacity and is very tough. It helps our confidence even more to know she's back there as our last line of defense."

PMG PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Sherwood's Ella Weathers during the Bowmen's game with Forest Grove Tuesday, Oct. 4, at Forest Grove High School. Weathers scored three goals and had two assists in the game., Times - Sports The Bowmen get three goals and two assists from senior Ella Weathers in Pacific Conference opener. Sherwood opens league play with big win over Forest GroveNot to be forgotten, Forest Grove equaled Sherwood's first-team selections, with senior midfielder Sophia Broberg, senior goalkeeper Aleena Calvert, senior defender Jordyn Minor, junior midfielder Joanna Long, and junior forward Elise Broberg all claiming spots on the top team.

It was the second straight year that Elise and Sophia Broberg earned first-team spots, something the former said earlier in the season was a byproduct of the work the sisters do together.

"Every practice we try and push each other and make each other better," Elise said. "We're always holding each other accountable because we know how good each other and our team can be."

Vikings sophomore defender Kailea Takahashi earned second-team honors, while three more Vikes were honorable mention.

Forest Grove defeated Mountainside in a first-round state playoff game before losing in the second round to Lake Oswego.

Joining Sherwood and Forest Grove players on the first team was Liberty's senior midfielder Morgan Keller and senior defender Megan Stoffregen, along with Glencoe sophomore defender Kailey Carcamo and McMinnville junior defender Ithzaly Rosales-Puentes.

Century put two players on the second team, senior midfielder Kaily Driggers and freshman defender Kiyana Ellis.

Sherwood's Cohen and Newberg's Scott Diefenbaugh were the Co-Coaches of the Year.

The entire list of honorees can be found on our website.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top