In total, the Pacers and Lakers see nine players named to 2017 all-league teams

REVIEW PHOTO: MILES VANCE - Lakeridge senior Maddie Grimes led her team into the Oregon High School Water Polo state playoffs and was recently named to the all-Three Rivers League first team.The competition in Three Rivers League girls water polo was as intense as ever in 2017.

The TRL sent four teams into the state playoffs and eventually saw Newberg crowned as both Three Rivers League and Oregon state champions.

In recognition of those great teams, the TRL released its list of 2017 all-league teams in November. In total, TRL runner-up Lakeridge saw five players honored, led by senior Maddie Grimes on the first team. Lake Oswego had four players recognized this year, that group led by senior Jacqueline Carman on the first team.

Newberg senior goalie Grace Kavanaugh was named the league's Most Valuable Player.

REVIEW PHOTO: MILES VANCE - Lake Oswego senior Jacqueline Carman was recently named to the all-Three Rivers League first team in girls water polo for 2017.

Three Rivers League

First Team

Mackenzie Russell, jr., Newberg; Jacqueline Carman, sr., Lake Oswego; Jordan Trantham, jr., Newberg; Maija Girardi, sr., Tualatin; Maddie Grimes, sr., Lakeridge; McKenna Matheson, sr., Tigard. Goalie: Grace Kavanagh, sr., Newberg.

MVP: Grace Kavanagh, Newberg

Second Team

Alayna Regier, so., Tigard; Nastaran Milani, sr., Lakeridge; Cali Rowland, sr., Forest Grove; Stella Byles, so., Newberg; Molly Glad, fr., Lakeridge; Hailey Day, fr., Newberg. Goalie: Delaney Snaadt, sr., Lakeridge.

Third Team

Annaliese LaCount, sr., Lake Oswego; Daphne Janko, jr., Forest Grove; Halle Mitchell, so., Tualatin; Ellie Hillier, sr., Tualatin; Taylor Rockwood, jr., Lakeridge; Annie Rodgers, sr., Lake Oswego. Goalie: Marla Mirho, sr., Lake Oswego.

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..