The Pacers notch a rare dual meet win Friday, see Quinn Brink win two tourney titles

Just one match into the 2017-18 season, the Lakeridge wrestling team has already broken new ground.

What did the Pacers do? They went 1-2 to finish seventh in the David Douglas Invitational on Friday.

While that in itself may not sound overly impressive, it marked an important step forward for Lakeridge. Indeed, the Pacers' 48-12 victory over Parkrose in the seventh-place match gave the team its first dual meet win in — according to Lakeridge head coach Brandon McDonald — at least a decade.

There was more good news afoot for the Pacers, too. In addition to their seventh-place finish, junior Quinn Brink — the reigning Class 6A state champion at 126 pounds — took the David Douglas tournament title at 152.

Brink opened his tournament with a 9-7 decision over Kyle Beal of David Douglas, lost to Noah Wachsmuth of Clackamas by a first-round pin at 160 pounds in round two, then pinned Danny Nguyen of Parkrose in the second round back at 152.

Further, through the team's two meets over the weekend (the Pacers also wrestled in the Tyrone S. Woods Memorial Tournament at Oregon City on Saturday), every wrestler won at least one match — the first time the team has accomplished that on the first weekend of the season.

In Lakeridge's Saturday tournament, Brink went 5-0 to take the title at 152 pounds, beating Chandler Villarreal of South Albany 10-4 in the championship. Teammate Jared Bartunek took third at 182 pounds, going 4-1 overall and pinning McMinnville's Noah Spencer in the first round to secure third.

Next up, the Pacers open the Three Rivers League season when they host Sherwood at 7 p.m. Thursday.

David Douglas Invitational

David Douglas 66, Lakeridge 9

106 - Hayden Narruhn (David Douglas) over Ronan Chapman (Lakeridge) Fall 1:11

113 - Max Hodge (David Douglas) won by forfeit

120 - Tairiq Crawley (David Douglas) won by forfeit

126 - Adam Young (David Douglas) over Cole Brink (Lakeridge) Dec 10-3

132 - Ryan Foster (Lakeridge) over Norena Arias (David Douglas) Fall 0:44

138 - Telman Razatdinov (David Douglas) over Ryan Boucher (Lakeridge) Maj 12-2

145 - Jahzriel Peak (David Douglas) over Connor Riedl (Lakeridge) Fall 1:59

152 - Quinn Brink (Lakeridge) over Kyle Beal (David Douglas) Dec 9-7

160 - Xavier Massad (David Douglas) over Pierce Boucher (Lakeridge) Fall 0:47

170 - Omarr Narruhn (David Douglas) won by forfeit

182 - Romeo Manue (David Douglas) over Jared Bartunek (Lakeridge) TF 19-4

195 - Abdi Abdullahi (David Douglas) over Jacob Groman (Lakeridge) Fall 3:35

220 - Ethan Simmons (David Douglas) won by forfeit

285 - Daniel Serik (David Douglas) won by forfeit

Clackamas 42, Lakeridge 30

106 - Alejandro Wilson-Menjivar (Clackamas) over Ronan Chapman (Lakeridge) Fall 1:06

113 - Double Forfeit

120 - Samuel Zavelytsya (Clackamas) won by forfeit

126 - Ben Harvey (Clackamas) over Cole Brink (Lakeridge) Fall 5:36

132 - Ryan Foster (Lakeridge) won by forfeit

138 - Ryan Boucher (Lakeridge) won by forfeit

145 - Connor Riedl (Lakeridge) over Johnny Ryan (Clackamas) Fall 5:40

152 - Kevin Davis (Clackamas) over Sims Vincent (Lakeridge) Fall 1:23

160 - Noah Wachsmuth (Clackamas) over Quinn Brink (Lakeridge) Fall 0:26

170 - Danny Pacheco (Clackamas) over Pierce Boucher (Lakeridge) Fall 0:50

182 - Jared Bartunek (Lakeridge) won by forfeit

195 - Jacob Groman (Lakeridge) won by forfeit

220 - Cory Ewry (Clackamas) won by forfeit

285 - Double Forfeit

Lakeridge 54, Parkrose 12

106 - Ronan Chapman (Lakeridge) over Trevor Nguyen (Parkrose) Fall 0:47

113 - Double Forfeit

120 - Double Forfeit

126 - Cole Brink (Lakeridge) won by forfeit

132 - Ryan Foster (Lakeridge) won by forfeit

138 - Ryan Boucher (Lakeridge) over Logan Hardy (Parkrose) Fall 0:32

145 - Connor Riedl (Lakeridge) over Jacob Leith (Parkrose) Fall 5:46

152 - Quinn Brink (Lakeridge) over Danny Nguyen (Parkrose) Fall 3:15

160 - Pierce Boucher (Lakeridge) won by forfeit

170 - Double Forfeit

182 - Jared Bartunek (Lakeridge) won by forfeit

195 - Jacob Groman (Lakeridge) won by forfeit

220 - Reshon Greenwood (Parkrose) won by forfeit

285 - Kobe Roebeck (Parkrose) won by forfeit

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine