In total, Lakers are honored at 10 slots after winning a share of the TRL championship

REVIEW FILE PHOTO - Lake Oswego senior Jake Dukart was named to the all-Three Rivers League first team as a pitcher and shortstop, and was also named TRL Player of the Year.To the victors go the spoils, and in Three Rivers League baseball, the Lake Oswego baseball team earned most of those spoils.

The Lakers, who shared the TRL championship after going 13-4 (tied with West Linn and Tualatin), saw players earn all-TRL first team honors at three spots, with senior shortstop Jake Dukart named Player of the Year in this year's all-league voting.

Lake Oswego's first-team selections included Dukart at both shortstop and pitcher, and senior left fielder Sam Haney.

According to Lake Oswego coach Jake Anders, both Dukart and Haney played huge roles in their team's success this season. In addition to their 13-4 league season, the Lakers won 12 of their final 15 games before being upset in the first round of the Class 6A state playoffs.

"Jake Dukart and Sam Haney were four- and three-year starters who were high impact kids for LO," Anders said. "Jake Dukart is considered the top-rated player in the state of Oregon on some (Major League Baseball draft) boards and Sam was the heart and soul of our team culture."

Dukart earned his honors at shortstop by batting .303 with seven doubles, two triples and two homers with 20 RBIs and 20 runs scored. He also had a .462 on-base percentage (best among Laker regulars), a team-high 19 walks and just eight strikeouts.

He also handled 93 chances at shortstop, making 31 assists and 51 putouts with 11 errors.

As a pitcher, he led the Lakers with 57.2 innings pitched, a team-high five wins (his overall record was 5-2), and a 1.699 earned run average, allowing 44 hits and 17 walks while striking out 87.

Haney got it done in his final Laker season, too, batting .297 with six doubles, a team-high four homers, a team-high 21 RBIs and 19 runs scored. He also had LO's second-most walks (13), second-best on-base percentage (.409) and third-best slugging percentage (.495) among its full-time starters.

Defensively, Haney handled 43 chances with three assists, 39 putouts and just one error.

In addition, the Lakers saw sophomore Thomas Dukart, senior Matt Grimm, freshman Malcolm Williams and junior Alex Giroux named to the second team, and junior Matt Sebolsky, senior Gabe Deville, Giroux and senior Dawson Jaramillo selected to the Honorable Mention team.

Lakeridge, which went 2-15 in TRL play, 4-22 overall and missed the state playoffs, had just one player honored, with senior pitcher Connor Utech named to the Honorable Mention team.

In addition to Dukart's selection as Player of the Year, Sherwood senior Riley Aggson was named Pitcher of the Year and West Linn's Joe Monahan was selected as Coach of the Year.

Three Rivers League

First Team

Outfielders: Sam Haney*, sr., Lake Oswego; Bryce Vaughn*, sr., Sherwood; Nick Heinke*, sr., Tigard; Griff Banta*, sr., West Linn; Sean Chamberlin, sr., Tualatin.

Infielders: Jake Dukart*, sr., Lake Oswego; Kyle Dernedde*, jr., Tualatin; Jonathon Kelly*, jr., West Linn; Anthony Garrett, jr., Sherwood; Colby Jackson, sr., Tualatin.

Pitchers: Riley Aggson*, sr., Sherwood; Jake Dukart, sr., Lake Oswego; Danny Shell, sr., Tualatin; Joey Campbell, sr., West Linn.

Catchers: Hayden Gilbert*, sr., Sherwood; Micah Gibson*, sr., West Linn.

Designated Hitter: Gavin Moore, jr., Tualatin.

First Baseman: C.J. Rivers, jr., Tigard.

Utility Player: Derek Maiben, sr., Newberg.

Player of the Year: Jake Dukart, Lake Oswego

Pitcher of the Year: Riley Aggson, Sherwood

Coach of the Year: Joe Monahan, West Linn

Second Team

Outfielders: Thomas Dukart, so., Lake Oswego; Jacob Maiben, sr., Newberg; Micah O'Donnell, sr., Tigard; Chris Freese, sr., Tualatin.

Infielders: Alec Hopkins, sr., Canby; Matt Grimm, sr., Lake Oswego; Jacob Matzat, sr., Sherwood; Michael Quintana, sr., Tigard; James Marshall, sr., West Linn.

Pitchers: Malcolm Williams, fr., Lake Oswego; Sam Gerkman, jr., Tigard; C.J. Rivers, jr., Tigard; Colby Jackson, sr., Tualatin.

Catcher: Cole Kinman, sr., Tualatin.

Designated Hitter: Cayden Delozier, so., Canby; Lance Kreisberg, jr., Tigard.

First Baseman: Alex Giroux, jr., Lake Oswego.

Honorable Mention

Outfielders: Matthew Sebolsky, jr., Lake Oswego; Takumi Kammerzell, sr., Sherwood; Sage Dunaway, jr., Sherwood; Fletcher Ahl, jr., Tigard; Blake Jackson, so., Tualatin; Garrett Marioni, sr., West Linn; Drew Vannaman, sr., West Linn.

Infielders: Cameron Laroche, jr., Newberg; Zach Bell, jr., West Linn.

Pitchers: Sean Wiese, jr., Canby; Cayden Delozier, so., Canby; Alex Giroux, jr., Lake Oswego; Connor Utech, sr., Lakeridge; Anthony Garrett, jr., Sherwood; Braden Thorn, jr., Sherwood; Jacob Matzat, sr., Sherwood; Kaden Cook, sr., Tualatin; Zach Anderson, sr., West Linn; Caleb Franzen, jr., West Linn; Garrett Marioni, sr., West Linn.

Catchers: Jack Bigej, sr., Canby; Gabe Deville, jr., Lake Oswego; Jordan Beaudry, so., Newberg.

Designated Hitter: Dawson Jaramillo, sr., Lake Oswego; Zach Anderson, sr., West Linn.

First Baseman: Nic Garrison, sr., Sherwood; Kaden Cook, sr., Tualatin; Justin Hoover, jr., West Linn.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine