Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



In total six Lake Oswego players are honored on the all-TRL boys basketball teams

PMG PHOPTO: MILES VANCE - Lake Oswego boys basketball coach Marshall Cho had good reason to smile on Saturday after his Lakers beat South Salem to finish third in state. Earlier, Cho was named Three Rivers League Coach of the Year.This should come as no surprise to anyone who watched Lake Oswego boys basketball this year, but the Lakers just flat killed it.

In addition to winning a second straight Three Rivers League title, Lake Oswego earned its first state tournament berth since 2013 and eventually finished third there.

In response, the Lakers saw six players honored on the recently released TRL all-league teams, that group led by first-teamers Josh Angle (a senior guard) and Wayne McKinney (a sophomore point guard).

Also recognized were junior guard Sam Abere (second team), senior post Grant Fuson (honorable mention), senior post Fred Harding (honorable mention) and senior forward Brandon Roberts (honorable mention).

In addition, Lakers' head coach Marshall Cho was named Three Rivers League Coach of the Year after leading his team to first place and an 11-1 record.

For Lakeridge, senior post Carter Larrance won a berth on the honorable mention team after leading his team in scoring and blocks, and grabbing the second-most rebounds.

Three Rivers League

First Team

Stevie Schlabach, sr., Tigard; Josh Angle, sr., Lake Oswego; Wayne McKinney, so., Lake Oswego; Oreon Courtney, sr., West Linn; Andre Best, jr., Oregon City; Drew Carter, so., Tigard; Caden Dickson, sr., Tualatin

Player of the Year — Stevie Schlabach, Tigard

Defensive Players of the Year — Oreon Courtney, West Linn; John Miller, Tualatin

Coach of the Year — Marshall Cho, Lake Oswego

Second Team

Erich Nova, sr., Oregon City; Corban Remsburg, sr., Oregon City; Sam Abere, jr., Lake Oswego; Jack Rose, sr., Tualatin; Bryson Crockett, jr., West Linn; Micah Garrett, jr., West Linn; John Miller, jr., Tualatin

Honorable Mention

Diego Arredono, so., Canby; Rizdin Miller, sr., Canby; Grant Fuson, sr., Lake Oswego; Fred Harding, sr., Lake Oswego; Brandon Roberts, sr., Lake Oswego; Carter Larrance, sr., Lakeridge; Jake Gettel, sr., Oregon City; Andy Talley, sr., Oregon City; Diego Lopez, sr., Tigard; Jazz Ross, sr., Tigard; Bridger Steppe, sr., Tualatin; Derek Leneve, sr., Tualatin; Joe Juhala, jr., West Linn

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework