Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Sophomore Cascade Stensland and junior Molly Glad are both named to the first team

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - Lakeridge's Molly Glad was honored for her stellar junior season with a berth on the all-Three Rivers League first team and Class 6A all-state second team.The Lakeridge girls water polo team worked to prove itself all year long.

And the Pacers, who eventually finished fifth at the Class 6A state tournament, got noticed for their efforts. Lakeridge, which also finished second in the Three Rivers League race, saw five players honored on all-TRL teams, that group led by first-team picks sophomore Cascade Stensland and junior Molly Glad.

"We were excited to see so many girls receive awards since they are a young team and were up against tough senior players in league and state for recognition," said Lakeridge coach Morgan Rauch.

Stensland, a sophomore, finished her season with a team-leading 132 goals while also handing out 42 assists, the second-most on the team. Glad, meanwhile, finished her year with 66 goals — second-most on the team — along with a team-leading total of 69 assists.

Also honored were two second-team selections, junior Hayden Borelli and freshman goalie Evelyn Miller, and one honorable mention pick, junior Kenna Faus.

"(They) are all exceptional athletes and we are excited to see them back as a squad next year," Rauch said.

In the all-state voting, Glad won a berth on the Class 6A second team, while both Stensland and Miller (she made 199 blocks and 50 steals in 2019) were named to the honorable mention team.

For Lake Oswego, two players were named to the all-Three Rivers League honorable mention team, freshman Carmen Karsonovich and senior goalie Makayla Evans.

Three Rivers League

First Team

Cascade Stensland, so., Lakeridge; Hailey Day, jr., Newberg; Molly Glad, jr., Lakeridge; Natalie Kisling, jr., Newberg; Olivia Parry, so., Tualatin; Stella Byles, sr., Newberg. Goalie — Maile Walls, jr., Newberg.

Most Valuable Player — Stella Byles, Newberg.

Second Team

Abbi Karsseboom, sr., Tualatin; Alayna Regier, sr., Tigard; Emma Parker, sr., Tigard; Halle Mitchell, sr., Tualatin; Hayden Borelli, jr., Lakeridge; Nikki Rubottom, jr., Newberg; Goalie: Evelyn Miller, fr., Lakeridge.

Honorable Mention

Alli Karsseboom, so., Tualatin; Amelia Bayha, so., Newberg; Carmen Karsonovich, fr., Lake Oswego; Ioana Collins, sr., Tigard; Jaime Cavalli, jr., Tigard; Kenna Faus, jr., Lakeridge; Katelyn Loomis, so., Forest Grove; Luci Brenner, sr., Forest Grove; Maddie Morse, jr., Newberg; Goalie: Makayla Evans, sr., Lake Oswego.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework