Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Gooding is named Three Rivers League MVP while Veater wins MVP honors at state

PMG PHOTO: MILES VABCE - Lakeridge senior Brody Veater followed up his team's state championship victory by being named Class 6A state tournament MVP in 2019.To the victors go the spoils.

In this case, the victors were the members of the Lakeridge boys water polo team, and the spoils were the all-league and all-state honors the Pacers reaped at the end of the year.

Lakeridge, which shared the 2019 Three Rivers League title and went on to win its first Class 6A state championship, was rewarded in proportion to its great success, with seven Pacers honored on all-TRL teams and six winning all-state honors.

"The amount of honorees that Lakeridge was awarded is a testament to the amount of teamwork and drive our athletes dedicated this season," said Lakeridge coach Morgan Rauch. "It was truly a team effort and it is amazing to see our athletes be recognized for their hard work."

In the all-Three Rivers League voting, senior Thomas Gooding was named co-MVP (along with Newberg senior Nathan Waldal), while senior teammate Brody Veater and Pacer junior Torin Ferguson also won berths on the first team.

Gooding finished his senior season with 58 goals, 43 assists and 52 steals, Veater went for 69 goals, 79 assists and 95 steals, and Ferguson added 71 scores, 34 assists and 43 steals.

"Thomas Gooding was a great pick for TRL co-MVP," Rauch said. "He is our center defender and … (allows) us to play a strong press defense. Defensive players can sometimes be overlooked, (but) Thomas did a fantastic job of being both an offensive and defensive threat."

Also honored for Lakeridge were senior Yeldar Daniyarbekov (second team), senior goalie Mitchell Parker (second team), junior Anthony Wang (honorable mention) and sophomore Collin Parker (honorable mention).

Lake Oswego's boys got plenty of postseason attention, too, after competing well in the TRL, and later, fifth at the state tournament. Second-team all-TRL sections for the Lakers were sophomore David Morgan, senior Hayden Mills and senior Ty Davis, while sophomore Maxwell Spurr and sophomore goalie Lincoln Buckner both won berths on the TRL honorable mention team.

In the fifth at the state tournament, Veater was selected as Most Valuable Player, while teammates Gooding, Ferguson, Mitchell Parker and Daniyarbekov also won spots on the first team, and Collin Parker was selected to the honorable mention team.

"Brody Veater was unstoppable in the state championship game and throughout the season," Rauch added. "He … was phenomenal to watch in the state competition. He is a great team player and set up his teammates for success with both assists and steals. He is an all-around strong player and a force to be reckoned with."

For Lake Oswego, both Mills and freshman Carlo Cremona were named to the all-tournament honorable mention team.

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - Lake Oswego senior Hayden Mills helped the Lakers to a solid regular season and a fifth-place finish at state beore being honored on the 2019 all-TRL team.

First Team

Alex Touzeau, sr., Newberg; Brody Veater, sr., Lakeridge; Nathan Waldal, sr., Newberg; Osmand Evans, sr., Newberg; Thomas Gooding, sr., Lakeridge; Torin Ferguson, jr., Lakeridge; Goalie: Nick Helikson, jr., Newberg.

Most Valuable Players — Nathan Waldal, Newberg; Thomas Gooding, Lakeridge.

Second Team

David Morgan, so., Lake Oswego; Hayden Mills, sr., Lake Oswego; Hudson Knakal, jr., Tualatin; Ty Davis, sr., Lake Oswego; Ty Patterson, jr., Newberg; Yeldar Daniyarbekov, sr., Lakeridge; Goalie: Mitchell Parker, sr., Lakeridge.

Honorable Mention:

Anthony Wang, jr., Lakeridge; Collin Parker, so., Lakeridge; Grant Waldal, fr., Newberg; Hudson Andrews, sr., Newberg; Jacob Peeters-ween, sr., Forest Grove; Johnathan Hosley, fr., Tigard; Josh Lakeman, jr., Tualatin; Levi Jorgenson, sr., Forest Grove; Lucas Gornick, so., Tualatin; Maxwell Spurr, so., Lake Oswego; Goalie: Lincoln Buckner, so., Lake Oswego.

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework