Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



This year's Pacers will be led by senior Jay Heymann and sophomore Andrew Huang

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - Lakeridge sophomore Andrew Huang joins senior Jay Heymann as one of two returning state swimmers who will lead the Pacers in 2020.The Lakeridge boys swim team is ready to rumble.

The Pacers, coming off a second-place finish in the Three Rivers League and a 13th-place effort at state, bring back two of the TRL's best swimmers in senior Jay Heymann and sophomore Andrew Huang.

Along with a handful of additional returners and cadre of additions from the boys water polo team, the Pacers should be a handful.

"We are always looking to have our swimmers work towards getting better and working together to achieve this goal," said Lakeridge coach Stacey Dennett, who takes over as head coach this season after previously assisting Derek Abbott. "Swimming against fast swimmers and teams helps us to improve and work towards achieving our goals."

Heymann returns after winning the TRL 200-yard freestyle and finishing second in the 500 free, and later, taking fourth in the 200 free at the Class 6A state meet and fifth in the 500 free. Huang, meanwhile, won the 100 breaststroke at district, placed second in the 200 individual medley, then took fifth and ninth in those two events at state.

Heymann will be joined by sophomore Griffin Beard and senior Reese Dennett as team captains, and the team will be bolstered by returners including senior Jackson Davitt (50 and 100 freestyle), senior Robert Jiang (100 butterfly, 100 free, 100 breaststroke), senior Andy James, sophomore Sean Davitt (freestyle), senior Patrick Dakin, senior Zack Candau, freshman Andrew Whitaker and senior Tommy Gooding.

"Griffin Beard, Jay Heymann, Reese Dennett and a host of other swimmers … lead by example, effort, enthusiasm and dedication every day," Stacey Dennett said. "Our leaders in the pool this year will Jay Heymann and Andrew Huang, our two state swimmers from last year."

The team will also be benefit from the addition of four water polo players — senior Brody Veater (50 and 100 free, 100 back), senior Yeldar Daniyarbekov, junior Torin Ferguson and freshman Aaron Tran (100 free, 100 backstroke) — as well as sophomore Rocco Lepiane and freshman Luke Olson.

"We are looking forward to seeing our new swimmers … find success and add depth to our program," Stacey Dennett said. "While each swimmer may have their favorite events, one of the things we admire about our swimmers is their willingness to 'swim whatever the team needs me to.'"

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework