Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The Laker senior finishes his shortened 2019-20 season as one of the state's best

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - Lake Oswego senior guard Casey Graver won a place on the Class 6A all-state honorable mention team after leading the Lakers to a Three Rivers League championship and a state tournament berth.To say that the season didn't go as planned for Lake Oswego's Casey Graver would be a massive understatement.

But to say that his season didn't go well would be, too.

Graver, a 6-foot-4 senior guard led his team to a 12-0 record and a third straight Three Rivers League championship, an 18-8 overall mark and a berth in the eight-team Class 6A state tournament. The 6A tournament was subsequently canceled in reaction to the novel coronavirus pandemic before the Lakers played a game.

Graver averaged 11.5 points and 4.5 rebounds in his senior season, hit eight buzzer-beating shots and led his team in charges drawn. In response, he was named to the Class 6A all-state honorable mention team.

"Casey was just the heart of our team," said Lake Oswego coach Marshall Cho said. "It was great to see him go out playing his best basketball. … I thought he should have been the Player of the Year since we won the league by four games."

Jefferson junior Nate Rawlins-Kibonge was named Class 6A Player of the Year while Barlow's Tom Johnson was named Coach of the Year.

Class 6A All-State Basketball

First Team

Drew Carter, jr., Tigard; Ben Gregg, jr., Clackamas; Jamison Guerra, sr., Sherwood; Nate Rawlins-Kibonge, jr., Jefferson; Jesse White, sr., Barlow.

Player of the Year — Nate Rawlins-Kibonge, Jefferson

Coach of the Year — Tom Johnson, Barlow

Second Team

Darius Gakwasi, jr., Central Catholic; Micah Garrett, sr., West Linn; Evan Inglesby, sr., Barlow; Matt Levis, sr., Jesuit; Nate Meithof, jr., McNary.

Honorable Mention

Andre Best, sr., Oregon City; Jett Carpenter, sr., North Medford; Marquis Cook, fr., Jefferson; Trey Galbraith, sr., South Salem; Casey Graver, sr., Lake Oswego; Sam Harris, sr., South Eugene; Blake Jensen, sr., Sherwood; Jackson Shelstad, fr., West Linn; Jacob Tompkins, sr., Summit; Lamar Washington, so., Jefferson.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework