Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The finish to the 2020 school year in Colton includes the announcements of scholarship winners and other awards

PHOTO BY CINDY FAMA - The Colton High School senior class earned more than $92,000 in scholarships and grants for continuing their education.

This year's Colton High School Night of Excellence to honor the achievements of the 36 students in the graduating class of 2020 was a virtual one.

Students earned more than $92,000 in scholarship money. Additionally, 27.8% of the graduating class earned the Honors diploma.

The following is a list of honors, scholarship and awards earned by the CHS class of 2020.

Honors diploma ("A student must have 28 credits, 3.5 minimum GPA, six credits of honors courses, 50 hours of community service, meet or exceed on OAKS Tests and senior project): Kolby Benthin, Nathanael Browning, Seth Ethington, Synove Hansen, Sophie Holden, Sadie Martell, Madison Olsen, Mackenzie Rose, Olivia Spitzer and Courtney Weinberger.

Certificate of Initial Mastery — Students must meet or exceed all Oregon essential skills requirements and work samples: Kolby Benthin, Nathanael Browning, Seth Ethington, Synove Hansen, Sophie Holden, Isabelle Martell, Sadie Martell, Madison Olsen, Mackenzie Rose, Olivia Spitzer, Courtney Weinberger.

National Honor Society: Kolby Benthin, Nathanael Browning, Sophie Holden, Isabelle Martell, Sadie Martell, Madison Olsen, Olivia Spitzer and Courtney Weinberger

Local scholarships

The Colton High School class of 2020 received multiple scholarships from the local community. They include: ColtonTel-Eileen Hayes Memorial Scholarship ($2,500) — Olivia Spitzer; ColtonTel-Beverly Rice Scholarship ($2,000) — Courtney Weinberger; Larry Benthin Scholarship ($2,000) — Sophie Holden; ColtonTel General Scholarship ($500) — Kolby Benthin; Rev. Luther Cornay Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) — Sophie Holden; NP Hult Family Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) — Olivia Spitzer; Dude Rice Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) — Madison Olsen; Frideborg Hult Cornay Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) — Sophie Holden; Beverly Rice Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) — Olivia Spitzer; Carol Reynolds Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) — Madison Olsen and Courtney Weinberger; David Nolz Memorial Scholarship ($500) — Madison Olsen; Olga Samuelson Freeman Scholarship Award ($2,000-renewable) — Kolby Benthin; Colton Volunteer Firefighter Association's Justin Lee Fraijo Scholarship Fund ($1,000) — Madison Olsen and ($750) — Olivia Spitzer; Silverton Hospital Health Auxiliary Scholarship ($500) — Madison Olsen; Foothills Community Church Scholarship ($500) — Madison Olsen; Finley Academic Excellence Scholarship (($3,000) — Sophie Holden; Associated Student Body Scholarship ($500) — Madison Olsen; Colton Education Association Scholarship ($500) — Courtney Weinberger

University scholarships

University of Portland Presidents Scholarship ($76,000): Olivia Spitzer

Oregon Promise Grant: Kolby Benthin Madeline Beguelin, Ashleigh Gilliland, Synove Hansen, Sophie Holden, Kayeigh Ledbury, Isabell Martell, Madison Olsen, Olivia Roland, Emily Sharp, Courtney Weinberger and Peter Woodward

CHS Excellence awards

Students of the year: Madison Olsen and Olivia Spitzer

Citizens of the Year: Kolby Benthin, Seth Ethington, Madison Olsen, Oivia Spitzer

Athletes of the Year: Wyatt Earls and Madison Olsen

Principal's Award: Seth Ethington

All-League awards: Madison Olsen — basketball and softball; Olivia Spitzer — volleyball and basketball,

Volleyball Award: Madeline Beguelin

Senior Student of the Year awards

Agriculture Leadership: Aexis Green

CTE: Joshua Rasor

Chemistry: Madison Olsen, Olivia Spitzer and Courtney Weinberger

Psychology: Madison Olsen and Olivia Spitzer

English: Sophie Holden

Spanish: Sadie Martell

Science: Sariah Germany and Thomas Hoover

Physical Education: Madison Olsen

Strength and Conditioning: Wyatt Angel

Art III: Seth Ethington

Art IV: Terra-Nova Skogan

Yearbook: Olivia Roland

English III: Wyatt Earls

Writing lab: Jeremias Gonzalez Mathews

Music: Synove Hansen

Independence and Initiative in Career Planning (ICP) Award: Wyatt Angell

Positive Post Secondary Outcomes Award: Samantha Chin

Accomplished Conversationalist and ICP Award: Hunter Jackson

Most Improved Scholar and ICP: Joshua Rasor

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework