Culver turns down bond

by: HOLLY GILL/THE PIONEER - MAC supporters, from left, Lee and Anita Goodwin, Margaret Kincaid, Patricia Smith, Chuck and Janice Alexander, and Lonnie and Angie Henderson react to positive results for the recreation district levy Tuesday night at Geno's.Supporters of the Madras Aquatic Center celebrated Tuesday night, while Culver School District's supporters regrouped for another attempt to pass a levy.

With nearly a 44 percent turnout in the May 21 Special District Election, voters approved the Madras Aquatic Center's request for a 40 cent per $1,000 assessed value five-year operating levy by a preliminary vote of 1,346 yes to 1,222 no (52.4 to 47.6 percent).

"This levy will help the MAC Recreation District Board of Directors accomplish the mission of providing fun, affordable, and safe aquatic fitness, sport, health, and recreation services," said Lonnie Henderson, co-chairman of the MAC Political Action Committee, who hopes that the public's investment will result in a healthier community.

MAC directors Anita Goodwin, Martha Bewley and Heidi Boyle retained their positions, and Jamie Hurd will fill an open position on the board of directors.

Henderson and Goodwin, vice chairman of the MAC board, thanked the many people who worked to pass the levy. "This means good things for recreation in Jefferson County, and good things for the MAC," said Goodwin on Tuesday night.

Culver School District's levy failed by a preliminary vote of 476 yes to 536 no — 47 percent to 53 percent. The district was seeking a $9.75 million 15-year bond to repair or replace aging buildings, modernize a districtwide HVAC system, and improve the safety of the facilities, as well as pay off the remainder of the $1.9 million debt left from a land purchase in 2008.

Culver Superintendent Stefanie Garber suspects that concerns over that land purchase may have kept some residents from supporting the much needed levy. "The hardest part for me was I wasn't superintendent at the time (of the purchase)," she said. "I sort of inherited it."

The district purchased 14.8 acres of farm ground on Iris Lane that connects to the school's property to be used for future school construction.

Because the purchase was made with a Full Faith and Credit Obligation Bond, the district must repay its debt. "At the end of June, we have principal, plus part of the interest due — $190,000," she said, adding that another $30,000 in interest will be due in December.

"In hopes that this would pass, we got a short-term loan to cover the June payment," said Garber. "We would still have to do something in December."

The Culver School District re-elected Scott Leeper to the board, but two other positions had no official candidates. Both positions received numerous write-in votes, but the top vote-getters have not been released.

School board elections

For School District 509-J, Laurie Danzuka and Tom Norton, who were unopposed, were returned to the board. Incumbent Lyle Rehwinkel retained his seat with 1,060 votes to challenger Courtney Snead's 933 votes.

Marie Glenn, Steve Rankin and Denise Piza, all unopposed, were re-elected to the Jefferson County Education Service District Board of Directors.

Joe Krenowicz, who ran unopposed to represent Zone 1 of Central Oregon Community College's district, was elected to fill the seat being vacated by longtime director Don Reeder.

For the Ashwood School District, Juan Gonzalez, Mat Felton and Thomas Ledbetter were all unopposed for three open positions.

The Black Butte School District elected Daniel Petke over Mark Dean by a vote of 93-32; and Shane Lundgren over Magda Schay, 81-58. Priscilla Wilt and Marie Sheahan (Bear) Brown were unopposed for the board.

Other district positions

For two positions on the Deschutes Valley Water District Board of Directors, voters re-elected Lee Baggett and Gary (Cap) Dinkel, with 1,178 and 1,153 votes, respectively. Paul Jensen finished third, with 808 votes.

Susan Stovall and Stephen Hillis were re-elected to the Jefferson County Library District, and Janet Pacheco was elected to the open position on the board.

Janelle Orcutt, James Quaid and Richard Candland were re-elected to three positions on the Mountain View Hospital District Board of Directors, but one position was unfilled in the election.

Returning to the Jefferson County Emergency Service District Board of Directors are John Paul Curnutt, Patricia Neff and Marian Morris-Ervin.

Mike Throop and Linda Larson were elected to positions on the Jefferson County Rural Fire Protection District. Both were unopposed.

The Sisters-Camp Sherman Fire District elected Chris Perry, Gary Marshall, and Don Boyd, all of whom were unopposed.

Robert Buckner and Art Klingsporn were unopposed for positions on the Lake Chinook Fire and Rescue Board of Directors.

At Crooked River Ranch, Kay Norberg received 422 votes for the Rural Fire Protection District, to Ed Elliott's 375 votes; Ken Fisher received 472 to Jim Dille's 226 votes; Dennis Kirk received 421 to Keith Bedell's 302; and Philip Cochran was unopposed.

Also at the Ranch, John H. Williams and Clarence Palm were unopposed for positions on the CRR Special Road District.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine