by: PIONEER ILLUSTRATION - A total of 3,750 voters cast their ballots in Jefferson County for the May 20 primary election.One open seat on the Jefferson County Commission was decided in the May 20 election, but the other seat will remain undecided until the November general election.

Incumbent Commissioner Mike Ahern won re-election to his seat, Position 2, with a vote of preliminary total of 2,072 to Floyd Paye's 1,261 votes — 61.9 percent to 37.7 percent.

For Position 1, the top two candidates, Mae Huston and Tom Brown, will vie for the seat in the November election, since neither received over 50 percent of the vote. Huston received 1,393 votes (41.5 percent), Tom Brown garnered 1,284 votes (38.2 percent), and Mike Throop, 673 votes (20 percent).

The only measure on the ballot for some county residents was Lake Chinook Fire and Rescue's proposed $660,000 general obligation bond to build a new fire station, which passed by a vote of 55-50 — 52.4 percent to 47.6 percent.

In other contested races for state and national representative positions, Republicans supported Rep. John Huffman over challenger Britt Storkson by a vote of 1,537-172. No Democrat filed for state representative for the 59th District, so Huffman will be on the November ballot. He received an unofficial districtwide total of 5,336 votes to Storkson's 531.

Gov. John Kitzhaber received 893 votes on the Democratic ballot, over Ifeanyichukwu C. Diru's 201 votes. He will face Republican Dennis Richardson, who received 945 votes, in the November election. Other Republican candidates included: Gordon Challstrom, 211 votes; Bruce Cuff, 190; Mae Rafferty, 160; Tim Carr, 116; and Darren Karr, 17.

Statewide, Kitzhaber received 238,140 votes on the Democratic ballot, and Richardson received 153,010 on the Republican ballot — 88.5 percent and 65.8 percent on their respective ballots.

For U.S. senator, incumbent Jeff Merkley received 964 votes on the Democratic ballot, compared to 94 for William Bryk and 46 for Pavel Goberman. He will face Republican Monica Wehby, who won the Republican nomination statewide, but received 807 votes to Jason Conger's 842 in Jefferson County.

Also on the Republican ticket for U.S. senator were Mark Callahan, who received 90 votes; Jo Rae Perkins, 48; and Timothy Crawley, 29.

U.S. Rep. Greg Walden resoundingly won the Republican nomination for 2nd District representative with a vote of 1,431 to Dennis Linthicum's 402 votes. In November, he will face Democrat Aelea Christofferson, who received 545 votes on the Democratic ticket, compared with 153 for Barney Spera, and 119 for C.F. (Frank) Vulliet.

Districtwide, Walden collected an unofficial total of 62,969 votes on the Republican ballot, and Christofferson, 23,756 on the Democratic ballot.

Running unopposed, Daniel Ahern was re-elected to Position 2 and Gary Lee Williams to Position 3 on the Circuit Court for the 22nd District with 2,368 and 2,026 votes, respectively.

Other judges on the Oregon ballot who were unopposed included: Supreme Court — Thomas Balmer, 2,003 votes for Position 6, and Martha Walters, 2013 votes for Position 7; Court of Appeals — Chris Garrett, 1,972 votes for Position 1, Timothy Sercombe, 1,939 for Position 4, Joel DeVore, 1,975 for Position 11, Erin Lagesen, 1,971 for Position 12, Doug Tookey, 1,957 votes for Position 13; and Oregon Tax Court — Henry Breithaupt, 1,931 votes.

In Jefferson County, Brad Avakian received 2,031 votes for commissioner for the Bureau of Labor and Industry, but a total of 371,894 statewide.

Jefferson County had an unofficial voter turnout of 38.2 percent, with 1,908 Republicans casting their ballots; 1,236 Democrats; and 606 nonpartisan voters.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine