Commissioner Mae Huston among three to be considered for former Rep. John Huffman's position.

SUBMITTED PHOTO - From left to right, the panel of candidates for District 59 representative included: Daniel Bonham, of Wasco County; Mike Shirtcliff, of Deschutes County; Perry Patrick, of Wheeler County; Mae Huston, of Jefferson County; and Bob Perry, of Deschutes County. Huston, Bob Perry, and Bonham were chosen to move forward in the process to find a replacement for former Rep. John Huffman.
The field of candidates to fill the vacancy left by the Oct. 28 resignation of State Rep. John Huffman (R-The Dalles) was whittled from five down to three on Saturday.

The Republican Precinct Committee Persons in House District 59, which includes all of Jefferson and Wheeler counties, most of Wasco County, a small part of Deschutes County, and tiny unpopulated sections of Marion and Clackamas counties, met at the Jefferson County Senior Center Nov. 11.

State Republican Party Chairman Bill Courier and Vice Chairman Chris Barreto conducted the meeting, which included other state representatives, and family members and friends of the candidates.

Of the five applicants for appointment, three were selected to go forward to allow the county commissioners from the counties to make the appointment.

The three selected were Jefferson County Commissioner Mae Huston, of Culver; Bob Perry, of Redmond, a retired director of marketing for the Gillette Co.; and Daniel Bonham, of The Dalles, owner of Maupin's Stoves & Spas.

The other two candidates were Patrick Perry, a former Wheeler County judge, and Mike Shirtcliff, a Deschutes County dentist.

A final decision on the three candidates is scheduled for Monday, Nov. 20, at 11 a.m., at the Jefferson County Courthouse. Based on the number of registered voters in the county, Jefferson County will have 14 votes for 13,684 voters; Deschutes County will have 16 for 15,805; Wasco will have 15 for 15,070; and Wheeler will have one vote for 1,016 voters. Neither Marion nor Clackamas County has registered voters in the district, so neither will have any votes.

The commissioners from each of the counties — Jefferson, Deschutes, Wasco and Wheeler — will select the representative.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine