The deadline to file for one of the four county positions - clerk, sheriff or two commission seats - is March 6.

The Jan. 23 special election may be in the books, but the May 15 primary election is just gearing up, with a slate of local candidates.

So far, eight people have filed for four Jefferson County positions. For those still considering filing, March 6 is the last day to file and pay the $50 filing fee for county offices. All positions are for four-year terms.

For position 1 on the Jefferson County Commission, incumbent Mae Huston, of Culver, has refiled for her post and will be challenged by Kim Schmith, of Madras.

Position 2, currently held by Mike Ahern, who is not running for re-election, also has two candidates who have filed — Courtney Snead and Mary Kendall, both of Madras.

Jefferson County Clerk Kathy Marston, who has served in that position for 19 years, announced in December that she plans to retire. Three people have filed for her position: Charity Dubisar, Yoonsun Reynolds and Brian Crow, all of Madras.

Jefferson County Sheriff Jim Adkins has filed for the position of sheriff, which he has held since January 2010, when he was appointed. He ran for the position in May 2010, and was elected, and re-elected in 2014.

Other key dates to be aware of include the March 15 deadline for local governing bodies to file a notice of a measure election; April 24, the last day to register to vote or change party affiliation; April 25, when local ballots will be mailed; and May 15, when ballots must be in an official drop box by 8 p.m. Postmarks do not count.

For more information, contact the Clerk's Office at 541-475-4451.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine