The fire department honors volunteers with pins, awards at annual awards banquet.

SUBMITTED PHOTO - Zack Leeper, the Firefighter of the Year, hands out the Rookie of the Year award to Erin Hurdle.An estimated 115 people attended the annual Jefferson County Fire District Awards Banquet March 16, at Erickson Aircraft Collection.

The fire department awarded service pins, awards for training, alarm response, Rookie of the Year, and Firefighter of the Year, according to Capt. Kasey Skaar.

"We had honorary members there as well, which is a past volunteer who was with the department for at least five years and left in good standing," he said. "It's wonderful having them there to share the past year with and hope to continue that."

Zack Leeper was named Firefighter of the Year, and also took home the award for responding to the most alarms at the Culver fire station. Nick Hancock was awarded for the second most alarms at the Culver station, and Levi Hinshaw, the third most.

SUBMITTED PHOTO - Capt. Kasey Skaar awards Chief Brian Huff with his 20-year pin.John Brown received the awards for most training hours and responding to the most alarms at the Madras station; Jeremy Stinson responded to the second most; and Onasis Adame, the third most.

Service awards were given out to Jim Brown for 25 years of service, Brian Huff for 20 years, Heidi Hagman for 10 years, and Scott Pollard and Paul Lanquist for five years.

JCFD currently has five full-time employees and two part-time employees, and about 45 volunteers.

The department responded to about 747 calls in 2017 — 547 in Madras and 200 in Culver — including 30 structure fires.

"Our student and volunteer program are both vital programs for our department's success," said Skaar. "The banquet is a way to celebrate and honor our volunteers."

For information about volunteering, call the fire department at 541-475-7274.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine