More than one-third of boards still have positions that need candidates by the March 21 deadline.

HOLLY M. GILL/MADRAS PIONEER - Filings for the numerous positions on special district boards are due at the Jefferson County Clerk's Office in the County Courthouse Annex by March 21.There is still time to file for positions on the boards of 20 different local districts. As of March 12, more than two dozen people had filed for 43 board positions that will be on the ballot for the May 21 special district election.

That election will also include one measure: the operating levy for the Jefferson County Correctional Facility.

The deadline for candidates to file for election, or for county government to file notice of a measure election is Thursday, March 21.

Two positions will be up for grabs on the Jefferson County School District 509-J Board of Directors: position 4, currently held by Courtney Snead, who has filed for re-election, and position 5, held by Stan Sullivan, who does not plan to file.

Casandra Moses, of Madras, will challenge Snead for position 4. No one has filed for position 5.

For the Jefferson County Education Service District, positions 1, 2, 3, and 6 are up for election. Edward Jackson, of Ashwood, has filed for position 1, currently held by Dani Cowdrey. No one else has filed.

Jackson has also filed for position 1 on the Ashwood School District. No one has filed for position 5.

The Culver School District will have two seats open, position 1, held by Dave Slaght, who hadn't yet filed, and position 5, held by Zoe Schumacher, who does not plan to file. Seth Taylor, of Culver, has filed for position 5.

Fire district boards

The Jefferson County Rural Fire Protection District has three seats open, position 3, held by Rob Galyen, who has filed for re-election; position 4, held by appointee Tim Whitaker, who has filed; and position 5, held by Mike Cloud, who does not plan to run for re-election.

Ryan Boyle and John Adams, both of Madras, have filed for Cloud's position.

On the Crooked River Ranch Rural Fire Protection District, there are four seats open, position 1, for which Bradley Pahl has filed; position 3, held by Dennis Kirk, who is not running for re-election; position 4, held by Barbara Oakley, who has filed for re-election; and position 5, held by Bob Bengston, who plans to run for re-election. Jeff Green, of Crooked River Ranch, has filed for position 3, and Mark W. Wilson, also of Crooked River Ranch, has filed for position 5.

For the Lake Chinook Fire and Rescue Board of Directors, there are three positions open. Those include positon 1, held by Larry Griffin, who plans to file for re-election; position 3, held by Gary Sweet, who has not indicated whether or not he's running; and position 5, held by Sheila Vertrees, who is not planning to run. Robert Zavodsky, of Three Rivers, plans to run for position 5.

The Sisters-Camp Sherman Rural Fire Protection District has three open positions. Kristie Miller and Ken Jones have filed for position 1, currently held by Heather Johnson, who is not running. Incumbents Chuck Newport (position 4) and Bill Rainey (position 5) have both filed for re-election.

Other districts

Deschutes Valley Water District has three positions open, those currently held by Richard Avila and Jo Guiney, positions 3 and 4, respectively, who haven't filed, and position 5, held by Dana Oppenlander, who has filed. Avila does not plan to file and Guiney indicated that she will file.

The Jefferson County Library District has two open positions, position 1, held by Bill Vollmer, who is not running for re-election, and position 2, held by Guy Chittenden, who has filed for re-election.

There are four positions open on the Madras Aquatic Center Recreation District Board of Directors: positions 1, 2, 3 and 4. Greg Tippett, who serves on position 1, has not filed, but has indicated that he plans to file, according to Chairman Jinnell Lewis, who has filed for re-election to her position, position 2.

For position 3, incumbent Steve Webb has filed, as well as Rob Galyen, and for position 4, appointee Greg Williams has filed for election.

Jefferson County Emergency Medical Services Board of Directors members Steve Heydon (position 3) and David Budden (position 5) have filed for re-election to their positions.

Jail levy request

In the May 21 election, Sheriff Jim Adkins will ask for a three-year levy of $1.39 per $1,000 in assessed property value — a 15 cent increase from the current rate of $1.24 per $1,000, which expires at the end of June.

In November 2018, voters soundly defeated a request for a five-year operating levy of $1.70 per $1,000. Adkins sought the 46-cent increase to cover the loss of revenue the jail faces when Crook County opens a new jail facility.

"Their plan has been to finish their facility in April and leave us in July," said Adkins, in an earlier interview, adding that the Jefferson County facility has been housing the overflow from the Crook County Jail since the jail opened its doors in 2001.

The county has been renting beds to Crook County — currently at a rate of $76.32 per inmate, per day, with the jail typically housing 20-25 Crook County inmates.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine