Voter turnout for 28th Tribal Council was slightly above 34%, down from 37% in 2016.

The membership of the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs elected members of the 28th Tribal Council on April 4.

On April 5, the Election Board presented the official results to the Tribal Council, which were certified. The term of office for the newly elected council is 2019-2022.

The Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs comprise three districts with a total tribal membership of 5,321. There were 3,469 eligible voters for the April 4 election and 1,196 individuals cast a vote.

Overall, voter turnout was slightly above 34%. The turnout rate during the 2016 Tribal Council election was 37%.

Two incumbents were reelected, including Simnasho Councilman Raymond Tsumpti, who will enter his eighth term on the Tribal Council. Seekseequa District Councilwoman Brigette McConville will return for her second term.

The remaining three seats on the Tribal Council are represented by chiefs from each district who serve for life.

The 28th Tribal Council members include:

- Simnasho District: Raymond Tsumpti Sr., Raymond Moody, Lincoln Jay Suppah, and Warm Springs Chief Delvis Heath.

- Agency District: Lola Sohappy, Anita Jackson, Glendon Smith and Wasco Chief Alfred Smith Sr.

- Seekseequa District: Brigette McConville, Wilson Wewa Jr., and Paiute Chief Joseph Moses.

The newly elected Tribal Council will be sworn in on Monday, May 6, at the Tribal Administration Building in Warm Springs. The schedule is preliminary, allowing for any election objections in accordance with tribal law, which had to have been filed by April 8.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine