Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Schmith is first commissioners race, with Fording in second; transient room tax failed

According to unofficial final election results, Kim Schmith and Wayne Fording will face off in the general election for Fording's seat on the Jefferson County Board of Commissioners.

And county voters rejected a three-percentage-point increase in the transient room tax — which is imposed on campgrounds, bed and breakfasts and other types of lodging — 58.44% to 41.56%.

In the commissioners' race, Schmith had 44.33% of the total, just under 6% shy of the 50% needed to win the race outright. Fording followed with 34.08%, and Kenny Bicart came in third with 21.35%.

A total of 5,484 votes were counted in the race. Of those 13, were write-ins.

County Assessor Jean McCloskey has easily won reelection, garnering 99.06% of the votes. She was running unopposed.

Jefferson County District Attorney Steven Leriche was also running unopposed, and he gained 96.66% of 4,252 votes.

Mike McLane, incumbent 22nd District Circuit Court judge, won his contest with 98.46% of the votes in the district, which also comprises Crook County.

In the Democratic Primary, Arlene Burns won handily in the race for the 59th District in the Oregon House, beating Tyler Gabriel 80.17% to 17.23%. She garnered 76.5% in Jefferson County.

Republican Daniel Bonham, the incumbent, was running unopposed and had more than 99% of votes districtwide and in the county.

Warm Springs resident Carina Miller was the only Democrat in the race for the state senator of the 30th District. She gained 97.67% of the vote districtwide and 98% in the county.

She will face Republican incumbent Lynn Findley in November. He had more than 99% of Republican votes across the district and in Jefferson County.

Cliff Bentz took the top spot among Republicans vying to replace Rep. Greg Walden in the U.S. House of Representatives. Bentz had 31.48% of votes in the 2nd District, followed by Knute Buehler with 22.05%, Jason Atkinson with 19.44%, and Jimmy Crumpacker with 17.93%. Jefferson County Republican voters were even more supportive of Bentz, who had served as state senator in the 30th District, giving him 34.62% of the vote, compared with 29.6% for Buehler, 21.28% for Crumpacker, and just 6.58% for Atkinson.

Democrat Alex Spenser will go up against Bentz in November. He gained 32.31% of the district's vote, with Nik Heuertz close behind at 30.93% and Chris Vaughn in a distant third at 18.26%. Jefferson County Democratic voters gave Spenser 30.29% of the votes, with Heuertz gaining 23.19% and Vaughn 22.83%.

In the Democratic race for Oregon Secretary of State, Crooked River Ranch resident Jamie McLeod-Skinner came in third, with 27.47% of the vote, behind Shemia Fagan, who led with 36.16%, and Mark Hass, who was in a close second at 35.57%. In Jefferson County, McLeod-Skinner was in a comfortable first place with 52.53% of the votes, followed by Hass with 25.28% and Fagan with 21.05%.

On the Republican side of the race, Kim Thatcher had a decisive victory, with 85.64%. Dave Stauffer came in a long second with 13.35%. In Jefferson County, the results were much the same. Thatcher had 82.63%, and Stauffer had 16.67%.

Republicans overwhelmingly supported President Donald Trump in the presidential primary. Statewide he garnered 93.56% of the votes, with 6.44% writing in a candidate. In Jefferson County, just 3.34% wrote in a name, and 96.66% of Republican voters supported Trump.

Joe Biden took both the state and the county in the presidential race, garnering 66.21% statewide and 77.7% in Jefferson County. Democratic voters in Jefferson County gave 9.95% of the votes to Bernie Sanders, compared to 20.39% statewide; 5.55% to Elizabeth Warren, compared to 9.57% statewide; 4.12% to a write-in candidate, compared to 2.1% statewide; and 2.69% to Tulsi Gabbard, compared to 2.1% statewide.

In the race for the U.S. Senate, Democrats voted for incumbent Jeff Merkley, who was running unopposed at a rate of 98.64% statewide and 97.96% in Jefferson County.

He'll face Republican Jo Rae Perkins, who won statewide with 49.31% of the vote, soundly beating Paul Romero Jr., who came in at 30.28%, and Robert Schwartz, who was a distant third at 11.09%. Perkins was also ahead in the county, with 43.68%. Romero had 35.22%, and Schwartz had 13.15%.

Of 15,534 eligible voters, 6,379 turned in their ballots, giving Jefferson County a 41.06% turnout, slightly under the state's 46.42% rate.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework