Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



by: PHOTO BY LINDA LARSON - Jason Smith of Warm Springs (right) works in the shank position while Colton David (left) and Bear Spino (middle) assist during the Professional Wild Horse Racers Association national championship Saturday night at the Jefferson County Fair Complex. Jason Smith and company capture wild horse racing championship in Madras

After all the dust settled inside Corwin Arena at the Jefferson County Fair Complex, a familiar face still reigned supreme.

Warm Springs’ Jason Smith, along with his team of youngsters Colton David and Bear Spino, captured the Professional Wild Horse Racers Association’s national championship, which was competed for Friday and Saturday in Madras.

For Smith, it’s simply something he is used to. This year’s title makes his 17th championship of his career.

The rough-and-tumble task of trying to saddle a horse that doesn’t want to have anything to do with anyone — and then trying to ride the angry equine — requires as much skill as it does mental discipline, a strong will and determination.

All the teams got banged up, bruised and injured during the two-day event, but the competitors still marched on and did their best to complete the task at hand.

The Smith Team came into the Finals as the overall leaders, and posted the highest score during the Finals to solidify its spot at the top of the heap for this season.

Finishing second to the Jason Smith Team was Team BGB, made up cowboys all the way from Shonto, Ariz, which is more than by: PHOTO BY LINDA LARSON - Wrangler Howe of Madras (middle) was named the Professional Wild Horse Racers Association Rookie of the Year during the national championships Saturday, held at the Jefferson County Fair Complex. Association president Jason Smith (left) and Spud Smith (right) presented Howe with his buckle.1,000 miles from Madras taking the quickest route offered by Google Maps.

Team members where Brandon Begaye, Daniel Etsitty and Lane Meanus.

Of the seven teams that qualified for the finals, which was determined by prize money won at different events during the season, five were from Oregon and four from Jefferson County.

Madras’ Wrangler Howe was named the circuit’s rookie of the year.

To learn more about the Professional Wild Horse Racers Association, this past season’s national and regional standings and results and even about the sport of wild horse raciing itself, go to the Association’s website at, and “like” their Facebook page by searching for the association’s name.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework