Eight White Buffalos earn TVC all-league accolades; Madras head coach Clark Jones named co-Coach of the Year.

WILL DENNER/MADRAS PIONEER - Madras senior Jonathan Reynoso (11) was named Tri-Valley Conference Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, after he finished with 20 goals and 12 assists for the season — both team highs — and helped lead the White Buffalos to an undefeated (11-0-2) regular season and 8-0-2 league mark.
Going into the 2017 season, the Madras boys soccer team had to ask itself, who was going to step up as a leader?

The White Buffalos graduated all three of their captains from the prior year, and replacing them wouldn't necessarily be easy.

But they returned plenty of others. The three incoming captains, seniors Jonathan Reynoso and Toni Sanchez, as well as junior Andres Acuna, ensured the transition was smooth.

All three were instrumental in Madras' undefeated regular season that it concluded with an 11-0-2 record.

Deservingly so, each of them were named to the Tri-Valley Conference all-league first team, and Reynoso was named TVC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season.

That was just the beginning for a deep Madras team, however, as senior Kevin Goicochea and junior Esteban Gomez landed on the second team. Seniors Jared Holliday and Tyler Lockey, plus juniors Byron Patt and Alex Sanchez all earned honorable mentions. Madras head coach Clark Jones shared Coach of the Year honors with Estacada's Jack Carroll.

Reynoso's senior season started where his junior year left off. He led Madras with 20 goals, and likely could've had more if he wasn't such a willing distributor. His 12 assists also led the team.

No exaggeration, Reynoso is one of the best players to ever come through Madras, and his talents will be irreplaceable next season.

Although Acuna has seen time since he was a freshman, he took on a bigger role this season and delivered. Acuna's 17 goals were second only to Reynoso, and he also chipped in five assists.

Sanchez was the glue of the Buffs' back line that held opponents scoreless in nine games during the season, and gave up a grand total of nine goals, which was the second-fewest allowed of all teams at the 4A level. He also chipped in a goal during an 8-0 home defeat of Estacada on Sept. 21, which also happened to be his 18th birthday.

The Buffs attributed much of their success this season to team cohesion and unselfish play. Goicochea exemplified both. His one goal and two assists on the year don't jump off the page, but his contributions were valuable. Jones shifted him to the center defensive midfield during the course of the season, and lauded him as a catalyst in the Buffs' rhythm on both sides of the ball.

Gomez tallied one goal and four assists, and was another steady player on the Buffs' back line.

Opposing defenses were often at odds with how to defend Lockey and his tall frame. The senior chipped in seven goals and four assists, offering a different scoring option for Madras off the bench.

Alex Sanchez chipped in one goal and four assists, providing speed and playmaking abilities on the outside edges of the field.MARY BRAVO/FOR THE PIONEER - Jared Holliday (left) and Byron Patt (right) split goalkeeping duties for Madras during the season, and both were named honorable mentions.

Holliday and Patt split goalkeeping duties nearly equally for the season, with Holliday typically starting the game and Patt subbing in after halftime. Jones intended to make one of them the full-time starter. But, after neither ceded ground to the other, he continued to play them both in somewhat unconventional fashion, and it worked.

Tri-Valley Conference boys soccer all-league team

Player of the Year: Jonathan Reynoso, senior, Madras

Co-Coaches of the Year: Clark Jones, Madras, Jack Carroll, Estacada

First team

Gavin Barrett, senior, Molalla. Tanner Nauta, junior, Molalla. Miguel Maldonado, junior, Molalla. Jonathan Reynoso, senior, Madras. Antonio Sanchez, senior, Madras. Andres Acuna, junior, Madras. Caleb Brotnov, senior, Estacada. Josiah Bitter, junior, Gladstone. Derek Johnson, sophomore, Gladstone. Zane Heaton, senior, Corbett.

Second team

Alex Freauff, senior, Crook County. Luis Solano Jr. senior, Crook County. Moses Freauff, junior, Crook County. Mauricio Rojas, junior, Molalla. Teo Sjoestrand, senior, Molalla. Eli Rome, senior, Molalla. Kevin Goicochea, senior, Madras, Esteban Gomez, junior, Madras. Avery Kingsford, junior, Estacada. Hassan Kahan, junior, Corbett.

Honorable mention

Thomas Milat, senior, Crook County. Jared Ojeda, senior, Crook County. Alex Sanchez, junior, Madras. Tyler Lockey, senior, Madras. Raymond Garcia, freshman, Estacada. Mitchell Kuhn, junior, Gladstone. Hunter Phung, junior, Gladstone. Kohl Cutler, junior, Corbett. Emmett Redfern, junior, Corbett. Grant Embree, freshman, Corbett.


First team: Patrick Ehleringer, senior, Molalla

Second team: Andrew Prom, senior, Gladstone.

Honorable mention: Jared Holliday, senior, Madras. Bryon Patt, junior, Madras.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine