Buffs' defensive coordinator Jerry Shaw named TVC's Assistant Coach of the Year.

LON AUSTIN/FOR THE PIONEER - Madras sophomore running back Treyvon Easterling was named to the TVC all-league first team after he rushed for 1,170 yards and 11 touchdowns.A much-improved Madras football team in 2017 was recognized accordingly in the Tri-Valley Conference's all-league team.

Treyvon Easterling was one of three running backs named to the first team, while Harrison Manu also made first team as a defensive lineman. Honorable mentions for Madras included Dalton Waldow and Wessley Beymer as cornerbacks, Catalino LeClaire at linebacker, Tyrell Reynoso at guard and William Lemus at tackle. Madras defensive coordinator Jerry Shaw was also named the TVC's Assistant Coach of the Year.

WILL DENNER/MADRAS PIONEER - Madras defensive coordinator Jerry Shaw (second from left) was named Tri-Valley Conference Assistant Coach of the Year.
"Jerry is all about helping our players for reasons that will make them better men," head coach Kurt Taylor said. "He is dedicated to teaching them our core values, and he continually places our values first in all his teachings."

Easterling's breakout sophomore campaign was something that Madras coaches expected coming into the season, and he lived up to those expectations.

He accounted for 209 of the Buffs' 336 carries (62 percent), and ran for 1,170 yards and 11 touchdowns during the season. His 5.6 yards per carry was third best on the team, though the numbers are somewhat skewed because the other two — LeClaire and Manu — carried the ball only 25 and 10 times, respectively.

Manu was a nightmare for opposing quarterbacks and linemen to stop from his defensive end position. His 10 sacks for the season included a four-sack effort against Molalla, and he also led the team with 54 tackles and 18 tackles for loss.

At linebacker, LeClaire was often lauded by coaches for his tireless effort. His 45 tackles were tied for second most on the team, and 33 solo tackles were second only to Manu.

One of the Buffs' biggest strengths was its secondary, starting with Waldow and Beymer playing opposite each other at cornerback. The two contributed to a unit that held opponents to 99 passing yards per game. Beymer totaled 32 tackles for the season, while Waldow had 24 tackles and one interception.

On the offensive line, Lemus and Reynoso, both seniors, were part of a group that looked a lot better from a year ago. Lemus and Reynoso helped Easterling eclipse the 1,000-yard mark. Madras averaged 185 rushing yards per game.

Estacada quarterback Nick Keller was named TVC Offensive Player of the Year, while Gladstone linebacker Derek Lee was awarded Defensive Player of the Year. Gladstone's Wayne Harris was named Head Coach of the Year, after leading the Gladiators to a league title and a trip to the 4A quarterfinals.

Tri-Valley Conference football all-league team

Offensive Player of the Year: Nick Keller, junior, Estacada

Defensive Player of the Year: Derek Lee, senior, Gladstone

Lineman of the Year: Jack Foss, junior, Gladstone

Assistant Coach of the Year: Jerry Shaw, Madras

Head Coach of the Year: Wayne Harris, Gladstone

Offense First Team

Nick Keller, junior, quarterback, Estacada. Damian Alvarado, senior, running back, Gladstone. Justin Drury, senior, running back, Estacada. Treyvon Easterling, sophomore, running back, Madras. Wyatt Riedel, senior, tight end, Estacada. Dominic Langley, junior, wide receiver, Crook County. Jeff Larsen, junior, wide receiver, Molalla. Jason Schaffer, senior, center, Estacada. Jack Foss, junior, guard, Gladstone. Ryan Sandidge, junior, guard, Estacada. Caleb Parrott, junior, tackle, Crook County. Kyle Anderson, senior, tackle, Gladstone.

Second Team

Chase Lazdinski, senior, quarterback, Molalla. Dylan Farris, senior, running back, Gladstone. Silverio Lopez, junior, running back, Molalla. Spencer Boyd, junior, running back, Gladstone. Brandon Palmer, senior, tight end, Molalla. Austin Heywood, senior, center, Gladstone. Tyler Clark, senior, guard, Molalla. Lee Campbell, senior, guard, Estacada. William Lemus, senior, tackle, Madras.

Honorable Mention

Chandler Berks, senior, quarterback, Gladstone. Kyle Knudtson, sophomore, running back, Crook County. Will Combee, senior, center, Crook County. Tyrell Reynoso, senior, guard, Madras.

Defense First Team

Devin Hall, senior, defensive line, Gladstone. Justin Drury, senior, defensive line, Estacada. Harrison Manu, senior, defensive line, Madras. Skyler Conner, senior, defensive line, Gladstone. Derek Lee, senior, linebacker, Gladstone. Wyatt Riedel, senior, linebacker, Estacada. Ben Pruitt, senior, linebacker, Molalla. Jared Weaver, senior, linebacker, Estacada. Nick Keller, junior, defensive back, Estacada. Silverio Lopez, junior, defensive back, Molalla. Deric Penn, senior, defensive back, Gladstone. Jeff Larsen, junior, defensive back, Molalla.

Second Team

Gabe Martinez, junior, defensive line, Estacada. Will Combee, senior, defensive line, Crook County. Hunter Gotchall, junior, defensive line, Estacada. Jackson Simmons, junior, defensive line, Gladstone. Brandon Palmer, senior, linebacker, Molalla. Jason Schaffer, senior, linebacker, Estacada. Ben McCoy, senior, linebacker, Gladstone. Erick Gonzalez, senior, linebacker, Crook County. Colton Burkhardt, junior, defensive back, Crook County. Brandon Thornhill, senior, defensive back, Estacada. Brody Connell, sophomore, defensive back, Crook County. Wessley Beymer, junior, defensive back, Madras.

Honorable Mention

Luke Flegel, senior, defensive line, Crook County. Grayson Lockling, senior, defensive line, Crook County. Walker Melton, senior, linebacker, Gladstone. Connor Blaylock, senior, linebacker, Crook County. Catalino Leclair, senior, linebacker, Madras. Jason Slawter, junior, linebacker, Crook County. Damian Pingo, sophomore, linebacker, Molalla. Jaxon Jedrykowski, sophomore, defensive back, Gladstone. Casey Brooks, sophomore, defensive back, Molalla. Dalton Waldow, junior, defensive back, Madras.

Special Teams

First Team

Ben Hill, junior, Gladstone. Victor Ramirez, senior, kicker, Crook County. Jared Weaver, senior, punter, Estacada.

Second Team

Josiah Wachlin, senior, kicker, Gladstone.

Contact Will Denner at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Follow him on Twitter
@MadrasSports, @WillCDenner

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine