Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Although there are no local candidates or measures to consider, voters will have plenty on their plates come May

COURTESY PHOTO: DREAMSTIME  - There are no local races, measures or levies on the May primary ballot this year.

Nobody is running for Newberg City Council in May, nor is anyone seeking election to the embattled school board. There are no local measures or tax levies and the next mayor's race is set for the fall.

So, what are voters to do when their May primary ballots arrive in the mail?

Think county, state and federal elections.

On the county level, the field is divided into contests for two spots on the Board of Commissioners: Position 1 and Position 3.

Position 3 features incumbent Mary Starrett against challengers Doris Towery and David Wall. Position 1, to be vacated at year's end as incumbent Casey Kulla seeks election as the state's next labor commissioner, pits newcomers Kit Johnston, Bob Luoto, Beth Wytoski and Harry Noah.

In order to win a commission spot outright, a candidate must earn at least 50% plus one vote of the ballots cast. If that threshold is not reached in either race, the top two vote getters will meet again in a runoff in the November general election.

The next race closest to home is for a two-year term in House District 23 in the Legislature. The Democratic primary in May pits Newbergers Kriss Wright and Elise Yarnell Hollamon. The winner of the race will face GOP incumbent Anna Scharf in the fall election.

The race for the newly created 6th Congressional District, formed by the Legislature after the state reached a population threshold in the 2020 census, is in a word — huge. Seventeen candidates are running for their party's nomination in the May primary.

The Democratic field includes Cody Reynolds, Teresa Alonso Leon, Andrea Salinas, Loretta Smith, Kathleen Harder, Matt West, Greg Goodwin, Carrick Flynn and Ricky Barajas. The GOP field includes Dundee Mayor David Russ, former McMinnville police chief and state Rep. Ron Noble, as well as Amy Ryan Courser, Nathan Sandvig, Angela Plowhead, Mike Erickson and former Rep. Jim Bunn.

The race for U.S. senator is tiny by comparison. Longtime incumbent Ron Wyden will face Brent Thompson and William Barlow III in the Democratic primary. The Republican primary features Darin Harbick, Sam Palmer, Jo Rae Perkins, Christopher Christensen, Ibra Taher, Robert Fleming and Jason Beebe.

Thirty-three, that's right, 33 candidates want to be the next governor of Oregon as Kate Brown must leave office in December due to term limits. Democrats must choose between Tobias Read, John Sweeney, Patrick Starnes, Dave Stauffer, Peter Hall, Genevieve Wilson, Keisha Lanell Merchant, Michael Cross, George Carrillo, Tina Kotek, Michael Trimble, Ifeanyichukwu Diruu, Wilson Bright, Julian Bell and David Beem.

GOP candidates are Amber Richardson, Bill Sizemore, Stefan Strek, Nick Hess, John Presco, Bud Pierce, Stan Pulliam, Kerry McQuisten, Tim McCloud, Brandon Merritt, Reed Chrisensen, Jessica Gomez, Marc Thielman, Bob Tiernan, Christine Drazan, Court Boice, Raymond Baldwin and David Burch.

Whoever emerges with their party's nomination will face former Democrat and now Independent Party candidate Betsy Johnson in the fall general election.

The last day for cities or districts to file statements with the county clerk's office was March 17. Candidates' statements were due a week prior on March 10, the last day to file statements for the voter's pamphlet was April 10 and the last day to file statements on measures for the pamphlet was April 21.

Candidates' statements became public via the clerk's office on April 16 and to cities on April 25. Arguments against measures were due at the clerk's office by March 21.

Military and international absentee ballots became available April 1, standard absentee ballots were available on April 4 and were mailed out on April 18. The last day to register to vote was April 26. The clerk must certify its ballot counting system by May 10 in anticipation of election day on May 17.

The last day to challenge ballot names is June 1 and the clerk's office has until June 7 to resolve those challenges. The office must certify the election by June 23.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework