Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Johnston slightly outdistancing Wytoski in race for county commissioner; psilocybin ordinances pass in both towns

Rick Rogers may well lose his position as Newberg mayor after challenger Bill Rosacker led by a healthy margin in early results from the general election.

Rosacker garnered 53.32% (3,272 votes) to Rogers' 46.68% (2,864 votes) following the initial count Tuesday evening by the clerk's office in McMinnville. While ballots can by law continue to trickle in for the next several weeks, Rosacker's large lead would appear unsurpassable for Rogers.RosackerRogers

Rogers, completing his first term in December, is the executive director of the Newberg affiliate of Habitat for Humanity. Rosacker, a general contractor in the area, is co-chief petitioner of the Kids Not Camps initiative. He has served on the city's budget committee and as chairman of the Newberg Downtown Redevelopment Committee.

County clerk race

Keri Hinton will retain her position as Yamhill County clerk after easily outdistancing Newberg resident and assistant store manager Cory Fribley in the general election.HintonFribley

Hinton garnered 19,180 votes (76.75%) to Fribley's 5,810 votes (23.25%) following the initial count Tuesday evening by the clerk's office in McMinnville. While ballots can by law continue to trickle in for the next several weeks, Hinton's large lead would appear unsurpassable for Fribley.

Hinton, named assistant clerk in late 2021, was appointed interim clerk in early summer after predecessor Brian Van Bergen left office to take a similar position in Marion County. Hinton filed for election to the position in August.

Position 1 county commissioner race

The county commissioner race between Dayton Mayor Beth Wytoski and farmer Kit Johnston is tight after the initial round of ballot counting on Tuesday evening. JohnstonWytoski

The Yamhill County Clerk's office reported that Johnston enjoyed a 539-vote lead in the run for Position 1 on the commission, which will be vacated by incumbent Casey Kulla at year's end after his unsuccessful run for commissioner on the state Bureau of Labor and Industry.

In May, Wytoski and Johnston outpaced primary opponents Harry Noah and Bob Luoto, but neither secured the more than 50% of the votes required to elude a runoff election.

Psilocybin businesses outlawed in Dundee and Newberg

City councils in both Newberg and Dundee left it up to the voters of their respective towns to decide whether psilocybin businesses would be allowed to locate within their confines. Voters in both municipalities responded with resounding approval of measures that would ban the enterprises for at least two years in Dundee and permanently in Newberg.

The yes votes outdistanced the no votes 65.88% to 34.12% in Dundee and 58.36% to 41.64% in Newberg.

The councils forwarded the decision onto their respective electorates after Measure 109, the Oregon Psilocybin Services Act, was approved by the state's voters in 2020. The measure gave communities a role in the form of three choices: take no action, which would require a city to adopt regulations for allowing manufacturers and service centers; enact a permanent ban and refer it to the ballot; enact a two-year moratorium and refer it to the ballot.

Both cities chose to enact a permanent ban and refer the question to the ballot.

Measure 109, which was adopted by a slim margin in Yamhill County, created a regulatory framework for the production of psilocybin and charged administration of the system to the Oregon Health Authority. The OHA is responsible for writing the rules for production and distribution of the drug via service centers. The measure requires that a physician prescribe micro doses of the drug and that it been administered only at the service center. It cannot be sold for recreational use from service centers.

Micro doses of psilocybin have been hailed by clinicians and the Federal Food and Drug Administration as a breakthrough treatment for depression, anxiety and other neurological maladies.

Dundee mayor and council

Incumbent hizzoner David Russ ran unopposed and will continue as Dundee's mayor for at least two additional years.Russ

Five individuals vied for three positions on the City Council: Incumbent Storr Nelson and challengers David Hinson, Scott Panida, Bruce Starr and Alex Chiper. Nelson, Starr and Hinson were the top three vote getters and, if the numbers hold true as ballots trickle in over the coming weeks, will take their spots on the council come January.

Nelson led the pack with 25.62% (435 votes), to Starr's 22.61% (384 votes) and Hinson's 21.67% (368 votes). Panida was a close fourth in tallying votes at 20.91% (355 votes).

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top