SCORESHEET/Everett Silvertips finish second in WHL playoffs; Swift Current wins title


One of the state's biggest events, literally and in other ways, takes a final bow at Historic Hayward Field this week.

The Oregon School Activities Association track and field championships return to Eugene for one last time before the demolition and rebuilding of the University of Oregon facility.

The Class 3A, 2A and 1A meet is Thursday and Friday.

Class 6A, 5A and 4A teams go on Friday and Saturday.

Last week, the Benson Tech boys and Lincoln girls won Portland International League titles. Benson, led by sprinters Micah Williams and others, totaled 128 points to edge Lincoln (115) in the two-day district meet at Franklin. The Lincoln girls scored in every event and finished with a PIL-record 205 points. Madison was second with 88.

Jesuit rolled to titles in the Metro League. The boys scored 193 points; Westview was second with 92. The Crusaders girls had 177 points; Sunset was runner-up with 127.

Central Catholic's boys scored 179 points to win the Mt. Hood Conference district title. Oregon City (111 1/2) was second. The Rams were third in the MHC girls meet.

St. Mary's Academy's young team was fourth in the Three Rivers League with 85 points, one ahead of Lake Oswego. The top three: Tualatin (126 1/2), Tigard (106) and Newberg (88 1/2).

In 5A, La Salle Prep's girls took third and the Falcons boys were sixth in the Northwest Oregon Conference.

Catlin Gabel swept the boys and girls titles at the 3A Lewis & Clark League meet. Portland Christian was third in both.

• The Swift Current Broncos are the Western Hockey League champions.

It's the third WHL title for Swift Current and its first since 1993.

The Broncos won the championship series 4-2 over the Everett Silvertips. Game 2 proved key. Everett won the first game and took a 3-0 first-period lead in Game 2 at Swift Current before the Broncos rallied to win 4-3 in overtime.

Swift Current will begin its play in the 100th Memorial Cup tournament on Saturday against Acadie-Bathurst Titan, champion of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. The Ontario Hockey League champions are the Hamilton Greyhounds. The tournament starts on Friday at Regina, Saskachewan, and continues through May 22.

NHL Network will show Memorial Cup games on a tape-delayed basis.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine