Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Veteran, versatile columnist, who covers the NBA and more, has won the award six times in career

TRIBUNE PHOTO - Portland Tribune sports columnist Kerry Eggers (right) shares a light moment with Golden State coach Steve Kerr, who once played for the Trail Blazers. Eggers has been voted the 2018 Oregon Sportswriter of the Year.Portland Tribune sports columnist Kerry Eggers has been named Oregon Sportswriter of the Year for the sixth time in his career.

Eggers will be honored at the National Sports Media Association's annual Hall of Fame banquet, set for June in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Eggers has won the award three times since joining the Tribune upon its inception in February 2001. He also was the Oregon Sportswriter of the Year while with the Tribune in 2003 and 2011.

His span of awards from the NSMA began in 1981, while he was covering sports for the Oregon Journal.

Eggers also was chosen as Oregon's top sportswriter twice while at The Oregonian.

For the Tribune, Eggers writes multiple columns per week, while covering the Trail Blazers as well as Oregon State sports, notably football, basketball and baseball, and his latest book, "Jail Blazers: How the Portland Trail Blazers became the Bad Boys of Basketball," was released in December. It chronicles the team from 1994-2006, with insights from more than 70 players, coaches, executives, broadcasters, sportswriters and others close to the scene.

Eggers has written six other books: "Blazers Profiles" (1991), "Against the World" (1992, with co-author Dwight Jaynes), "Wherever You May Be: The Bill Schonely Story" (1999), "Clyde 'The Glide' Drexler: My Life in Basketball" (2004), "Oregon State University Football Vault" (2009), and "The Civil War Rivalry: Oregon vs. Oregon State" (2014).

Eggers and John Canzano of The Oregonian were this year's Oregon Sportswriter of the Year finalists.

Also to be honored at the June NSMA awards banquet is the 2018 Oregon Sportscaster of the Year, Kevin Calabro of the Trail Blazers. He has won 10 times, including nine in Washington.

Media from around the state vote for the Oregon awards.

The 2018 National Sportscaster of the Year is ESPN/ABC basketball broadcaster/analyst Doris Burke, and the National Sportswriter of the Year is ESPN's Adrian Wojnarowski.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework