Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



WEDNESDAY LOCAL SPORTS NEWS/Blichfeld, Glass recognized by WHL; Ducks' Kelly Graves gets new contract


Portland forward Joachim Blichfeld is the Western Hockey League Western Conference Player of the Year.

Portland's Cody Glass won the Brad Hornung Trophy as the Western Conference Most Sportsmanlike Player.

Blichfeld and Glass are first-team Western Hockey League Western Conference as selected by the league's general managers.

The league announced its award winners and all-conference teams in advance of the beginning of the playoffs on Friday. The Winterhawks open with games on Friday and Saturday at Spokane. Games 3 and 4 of the best-of-7 series with the Chiefs are 7 p.m. Tuesday and Wednesday at Memorial Coliseum.

Blichfeld, a 20-year-old San Jose Sharks prospect from Frederikshavn, Denmark, led the WHL in points with 114 and tied for the regular-season lead in goals scored with 53.

Glass, a 19-year-old Vegas Golden Knights prospect, led the WHL in points per game and was named a first-teamer despite missing 30 games due to injuries and the World Juniors tournament.

The Eastern Conference Player of the Year is Trey Fix-Wolanski of the Edmonton Oil Kings.

The other Western Conference awards announced on Thursday: Top defenseman Ty Smith (Spokane), top goalie Dustin Wolf (Everett), rookie of the year Lassi Thomson (Kelowna), executive of the year Garry Davidson (Everett) and coach of the year Michael Dyck (Vancouver Giants).

Joining Blichfeld and Glass as a first-team forward for the West is Everett's Connor Dewar. The first-team defensemen are Spokane's Ty Smith and Vancouver's Bowen Byram, and the first-team goalie is Everett's Dustin Wolf.

The Western Conference second team consists of goalie Beck Warm of Tri-City, defensemen Lassi Thomson of Kelowna and Scott Walford of Victoria and forwards Parker AuCoin of Tri-City, Matthew Wedman of Seattle and Riley Woods of Spokane.

The Eastern Conference first-teamers are goalie Ian Scott (Prince Albert), defensemen Josh Brook (Moose Jaw) and Dawson Davidson (Saskatoon) and forwards Trey Fix-Wolansky (Edmonton), Tristan Langan (Moose Jaw) and Brett Leason (Prince Albert).

The Eastern Conference second-team members are goalie Mads Sogaard (Medicine Hat), defensemen Jett Woo (Moose Jaw) and Brayden Pachal (Prince Albert) and forwards Brandon Hagel (Red Deer), Stelio Mattheos (Brandon) and Mark Kastelic (Calgary).

• The Winnipeg Ice will have the first pick in the 2019 WHL bantam draft after a lottery held on Thursday. After 21 seasons in Cranbrook, British Columbia, the franchise is moving to Winnipeg.

The Winterhawks do not have a first-round pick. Their first pick is at No. 14 in the second round.

Eligible for selection are 2004-born players from Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Northwest Territories and Yukon and Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.


Oregon has agreed to a contract extension with coach Kelly Graves through the 2025-26 season.

In his fifth season at Oregon, Graves has led the Ducks to consecutive Pac-12 regular-season championships and consecutive Elite Eight appearances.

Theagreement adds three years to an extension agreed to in April 2017.

The Ducks are 120-51 under Graves heading into Friday's 6 p.m. NCAA Tournament first-round game against Portland State.


Logan Emory is the new assistant coach for the Portland Pilots.

An assistant for the Pilots men's team the past three seasons, Emory replaces Dominic Doty, who resigned to pursue opportunities out of coaching.

Emory played for the Pilot men from 2006-09.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework