Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



BY PAUL DANZER/PORTLAND TRIBUNE/Oregon Ducks guard Sabrina Ionescu finishes second in balloting

PMG PHOTO: JAIME VALDEZ - Megan Gustafson of Iowa receives the AP Player of the Year Award for women's college basketball on Thursday at the NCAA Final Four in Tampa, Florida.

TAMPA, Florida — The Associated Press women's college basketball player of the year is not playing in the NCAA Final Four.

But the winner, 6-3 center Megan Gustafson of Iowa, is the first player in Big Ten history to claim the honor.

It was announced Thursday at the site of the national semifinal games, which will take place Friday and pit Oregon against Baylor, and Notre Dame versus Connecticut.

Oregon guard Sabrina Ionescu was the runner-up for the AP's top honor, which was decided by 28 voters.

Gustafson reportedly received 15 votes, while Ionescu got seven, Napheesa Collier of UConn three, Asia Durr of Louisville two and Teaira McCowan of Mississippi State one.

Gustafson and the Hawkeyes lost to Baylor in the Elite Eight 85-53 on Monday. She averaged 27.9 points per game to lead the nation in scoring, and she tied the NCAA record for double-doubles in a season with 33.

Baylor's Kim Mulkey was named AP Coach of the Year on Thursday. She won the award once previously (in 2012, when Baylor won its second of two national titles) and this year has guided the Bears to a 35-1 record and the No. 1 ranking. She got 17 of 28 votes.

Vic Schaefer of Mississippi State, which fell to Oregon in the Elite Eight, and Wes Moore of North Carolina State each received five votes. Iowa coach Lisa Bluder was selected on one ballot.

All voting was done before the NCAA Tournament.

PMG PHOTO: JAIME VALDEZ - Baylor's Kim Mulkey (right) and Iowa Hawkeyes center Megan Gustafson show off their hardware Thursday after being named by the Associate Press as women's college basketball player and coach of the year.

  • AP women's college basketball players of the year

    2019 — Megan Gustafson, Iowa

    2018 — A'ja Wilson, South Carolina

    2017 — Kelsey Plum, Washington

    2016 — Brenna Stewart, Connecticut

    2015 — Brenna Stewart, Connecticut

    2014 — Brenna Stewart, Connecticut

    2013 — Brittney Griner, Baylor

    2012 — Brittney Griner, Baylor

    2011 — Maya Moore, Connecticut

    2010 — Tina Charles, Connecticut

    2009 — Maya Moore, Connecticut

    2008 — Candace Parker, Tennessee

    2007 — Candace Parker, Tennessee

    2006 — Seimone Augustus, LSU

    2005 — Seimone Augustus, LSU

    2004 — Alana Beard, Duke

    2003 — Diana Taurasi, Connecticut

    2002 — Sue Bird, Connecticut

    2001 — Ruth Riley, Notre Dame

    2000 — Tamika Catchings, Tennessee

    1999 — Chaminque Holdsclaw, Tennessee

    1998 — Chaminque Holdsclaw, Tennessee

    1997 — Kara Wolters, Connecticut

    1996 — Jennifer Rizzotti, Connecticut

    1995 — Rebecca Lobo, Connecticut

    You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

    Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

    Go to top
    JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework