Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



BY PAUL DANZER/PORTLAND TRIBUNE/Ducks junior repeats as recipient of Nancy Lieberman Award

PMG PHOTO: JAIME VALDEZ - Sabrina Ionescu of the University of Oregon poses with women's basketball great Nancy Lieberman after capturing the Nancy Lieberman Award.

TAMPA, Florida — Oregon Ducks junior Sabrina Ionescu has won the Nancy Lieberman Award for the second year in a row.

The honor goes to the top point guard in women's college basketball at the NCAA Division I level.

Ionescu was announced as a repeat winner on Thursday, one day before the Ducks are slated to face Baylor in the Final Four.

Lieberman, the former Old Dominion star, was on hand to present the award.

The winner is to exemplify "the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills that personified Nancy Lieberman during her career."

"I'm really proud of you and what you've done for the game of basketball," Lieberman said to Ionescu in making the presentation. "It's an honor to give you the point guard of the year award."

Voting is done by sportswriters from around the country.

The other finalists, announced last month, were Destiny Slocum of Oregon State, Crystal Dangerfield of Connecticut, Tyasha Harris of South Carolina and Tiana Mangakahia of Syracuse.

Three others have won the award twice: UConn's Moriah Jefferson (2014-16) and Notre Dame's Skylar Diggins (2011-13), and former Connecticut star Sue Bird won the inaugural award for the 1999-2000 season as well as the honor the following two years.

  • Nancy Lieberman Award

    (given annually to the top college point guard in NCAA Division I women's basketball)


    2018-19 — Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon

    2017-18 — Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon

    2016-17 — Kelsey Plum, Washington

    2015-16 — Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut

    2014-15 — Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut

    2013-14 — Odyssey Sims, Baylor

    2012-13 — Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame

    2011-12 — Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame

    2010-11 — Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga

    2009-10 — Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State

    2008-09 — Renee Montgomery, Connecticut

    2007-08 — Kristi Toliver, Maryland

    2006-07 — Lindsey Harding, Duke

    2005-06 — Ivory Latta, North Carolina

    2004-05 — Temeka Johnson, LSU

    2003-04 — Diana Taurasi, Connecticut

    2002-03 — Diana Taurasi, Connecticut

    2001-02 — Sue Bird, Connecticut

    2000-01 — Sue Bird, Connecticut

    1999-2000 — Sue Bird, Connecticut

    You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

    Go to top
    JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework