Oregon Sports Awards honors Rutschman, others; big matchups on tap for Pickles, Hops

COURTESY: TODD OLSZEWSKI/BALTIMORE ORIOLES - Adley Rutschman, a recent signee with the Baltimore Orioles after they picked him with the No. 1 draft choice, has been honored by the Oregon Sports Awards.  Oregon Sports Awards: The day-by-day announcement of winners for 2018-19 includes the following ...

Prep Girls Lacrosse Player of the Year — Winner: Katy Gilbert, Lake Oswego.

Prep Boys Lacrosse Player of the Year — Winner: Alex Slusher, Oregon Episcopal School.

Ad Rutschman Small College Men's Athlete of the Year — Winner: Mitchell Fink, Oregon Tech basketball. Finalists: Zach Beltz, Southern Oregon track and field; Conor Bailey, Willamette baseball.

Ad Rutschman Small College Women's Athlete of the Year — Winner: Annie Wright, George Fox track and field. Finalists: Maya Ah You Dias, Eastern Oregon basketball; Olivia McDaniel, Linfield track and field.

Bill Hayward Male Athlete of the Year - Winner: Adley Rutschman, Oregon State baseball. Finalists: Cravon Gillespie, Oregon track and field; Justin Herbert, Oregon football

Pickles: Portland's West Coast League season continues with a 7 p.m. Thursday home game at Walker Stadium against the Bellingham Bells. Then the Pickles go to the expansion Ridgefield Raptors in Southwest Washington for a three-game series Friday through Sunday.

Hops: Hillsboro and Salem-Keizer are battling down to the wire for the first-half South Division title in the Class A Northwest League. The Hops will finish the first half with five games against Eugene, starting with matchups at 7 p.m. Thursday and Friday at PK Park.

The Emeralds will visit Ron Tonkin Field for a three-game set, facing Hillsboro at 7 p.m. Saturday, 4 p.m. Sunday and 7 p.m. Monday.

Quality local journalism takes time and money, which comes, in part, from paying readers. If you enjoy articles like this one, please consider supporting us.
(It costs just a few cents a day.)