Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



What: NTT IndyCar Grand Prix of Portland, round 16 of 17 on tour, plus support races

COURTESY: CHRIS OWENS - NEWGARDENWhere: Portland International Raceway, 1.964-mile, 12-turn permanent road course; 105 laps

When: Friday-Sunday

Schedule: Friday — IndyCar practice, 10:15 a.m.; Stadium Super Trucks qualifying, 11:50 a.m.; Indy Pro 2000 qualifying, 2:05 p.m.; IndyCar practice, 2:40 p.m.; Indy Lights qualifying, 4:25 p.m.; USF2000 qualifying, 5:10 p.m. Saturday — MX-5 Cup qualifying, 8:30 a.m.; USF 2000 qualifying, 9:05 a.m.; Indy Lights qualifying, 9:40 a.m.; Indy Pro 2000 qualifying, 10:25 a.m.; IndyCar practice, 11 a.m.; Stadium Super Trucks Race 1, noon; MX-5 Cup Race 1, 12:45 p.m.; Indy Lights Race 1, 1:50 p.m.; IndyCar qualifying, 3 p.m.; USF 2000 Race 1, 4:30 p.m.; Indy Pro 2000 Race 1, 5:45 p.m. Sunday — MX-5 Cup Race 2, 8:30 a.m.; Indy Lights Race 2, 9:35 a.m.; Stadium Super Trucks Race 2, 10:55 a.m.; IndyCar Series Race, 12:40 p.m.; Indy Pro 2000 Race 2, 3:10 p.m.; USF2000 Race 2, 4:15 p.m.

IndyCar points leaders: Josef Newgarden, Team Penske, 563 (four wins); Simon Pagenaud, Team Penske, 525 (three wins); Alexander Rossi, Andretti Autosport, 517 (two wins); Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing, 493 (two wins); Will Power, Team Penske, 416 (one win); Takuma Sato, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, 382 (two wins).

Colton Herta, 14th in points for Harding Steinbrenner Racing, has the only other win among drivers (March 24 at Circuit of the Americas, Austin, Texas), as he set the record for youngest winner (19).

Last year: Sato won with race strategy — fuel conservation, two pit stops — and became the winner from the lowest qualifying position (20th) in PIR history.

Notes: Last week, Sato won his second race of the 2019 season, at Madison, Illinois, at age 42; Ed Carpenter, 42, was second and Tony Kanaan, 44, placed third. "I think that's the beauty of this sport, with motor racing," Sato said. "If you're only talking in physical terms, (we) might not be able to do that. With the combination of experience, the team behind (us) and the race craft, all those things — I think age is sometimes something, but it is not everything." ... This will be the 26th open-wheel race at PIR, after last year's IndyCar debut and CART (1984-2003) and Champ Car (2004-07) races. ... Twenty-three of the 33 starters in the 2019 Indy 500 were Indy Lights graduates, including 11 champions. ... Kanaan's record streak for most consecutive starts began at Portland in 2001. It was at 300 consecutive starts heading into the season; it's now at 315. ... The Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey concludes the IndyCar Series Sept. 22.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine