Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Ducks have won three Rose Bowls and had some memorable performances in losses at Pasadena

PMG PHOTO: JAIME VALDEZ - Marcus Mariota (left) and linebacker Tony Washington hold the Rose Bowl trophy after Oregon throttled Florida State on Jan. 1, 2015.1917 — Oregon 14, Pennsylvania 0. Widely seen as a huge upset and a game-changer for college football on the West Coast. UO scored two second-half TDs — one on a trick play learned from Penn's coach. The Webfoots were 6-0-1, including a 0-0 tie with Washington. UO went to the Rose Bowl because train fare from Eugene to Pasadena, Calif., was cheaper than from Seattle. It would be 95 years before Oregon won another Rose Bowl.

1920 — Harvard 7, Oregon 6. A hundred years ago Harvard won its only Rose Bowl thanks to a first-half TD, edging unbeaten Oregon. The Webfoots' points came from "two goals from the field," as the AP story described it.

1958 — Ohio State 10, Oregon 7. The No. 2-ranked Buckeyes (9-1) coached by Woody Hayes were heavy favorites. Oregon had lost two of its last three games (to Washington and Oregon State), but unranked Oregon outgained Ohio State as QB Jack Crabtree was Rose Bowl MVP and the Webfoots (7-4) were praised for their performance.

1995 — Penn State 38, Oregon 20. The game was tied 14-14 in the third quarter before the Nittany Lions' high-powered offense pulled away. Ducks QB Danny O'Neil threw for 456 yards, one of his 11 Rose Bowl records (at the time). Penn State (12-0) finished No. 2 in both polls behind Nebraska. Oregon (9-4) finished No. 11.

2010 — Ohio State 26, Oregon 17. Terrelle Pryor and the Buckeyes played keep-away from Jeremiah Masoli and the Ducks to the tune of a 41:37-18:23 edge in possession time. The Ducks led 17-16 in the third quarter, but the Buckeyes (11-2) scored the final 10 points, the clinching touchdown coming at the end of a 81-yard, 13-play drive. Oregon (10-3) finished ranked No. 11.

2012 — Oregon 45, Wisconsin 38. The Ducks scored 10 fourth-quarter points to secure their first Rose Bowl win since 1917 — but not before Russell Wilson drove the Badgers (11-3) to the Ducks 25. Wilson was a fraction late spiking the ball as time expired. Led by LaMichael James, De'Anthony Thomas and Darron Thomas, Oregon had 621 yards of offense. Oregon (12-2) finished ranked No. 4.

2015 (College Football Playoff semifinal) — Oregon 59, Florida State 20. Heisman winner Marcus Mariota and Co. scored 34 points over the final 23 minutes to crush Jameis Winston and Florida State in the first CFP semifinal game. Mariota accounted for 400 yards and three TDs (one rushing). Thomas Tyner (124 yards, 2 TDs) and Darren Carrington (7 catches, 165 yards, 2 TDS) had big games. Oregon (13-2) lost to Ohio State in the national championship game and finished ranked No. 2.

— Paul Danzer

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework