Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Voting open to the public through March 30; star guard would be first from UO to win

IONESCUNo University of Oregon athlete has won the James E. Sullivan Award, presented annually to the most outstanding amateur amateur athlete in the United States.

The award was established in 1930 and is based on leadership, character, sportsmanship, the ideals of amateurishm and athletic accomplishments.

Lake Oswego's Don Schollander won it after his four gold-medal effort in swimming at the 1964 Tokyo Olympics.

Bill Walton won it in 1973 in basketball, before the UCLA Bruin became a Trail Blazer.

Eugene distance running star Mary Decker won it in 1982.

But as of Monday, U of O women's basketball star Sabrina Ionescu is still in the hunt for the honor this year.

The Amateur Athletic Union named the Ducks guard as one of 10 finalists.

The only other Duck finalist was volleyball standout Liz Brenner in 2012.

Voting is open to the public at It will close at 11:59 p.m. on March 30.

Other finalists: Evita Griskenas, USA Rhythmic Gymnastis; Grant Holloway, Florida track and field; Markus Howard, Marquette basketball; Trevor Lawrence, Clemson football; Spencer Lee, Iowa wrestling; Dana Rettke, Wisconsin volleyball; Kyla Ross, UCLA gymnastics; Megan Taylor, Maryland lacrosse; and Abbey Weitzeil, California swimming.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework