Wednesday local sports roundup: Oregon Ducks guard wins Ann Meyers Drysdale Award

COURTESY PHOTO: SERENA MORONES - Sabrina Ionescu takes on a Stanford defender during the 2020 Pac-12 tournament final.Another day, another national award for Sabrina Ionescu.

On Wednesday, the Oregon Ducks star won the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, which is given to the national player of the year for college women's basketball as selected by the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Ionescu is the first Oregon player to win this award.

"Sabrina Ionescu is one of the most well-rounded players on both ends of the floor. Her leadership on and off the court stands out, and her ability to make everyone around her better sets her apart," Meyers Drysdale said in the USBWA release. "She has grown and developed her game every year, and I am disappointed that she was not able to finish out her senior year and give her Oregon Ducks a chance to win a national title. I am very proud to have Sabrina receive the 2020 Ann Meyers Drysdale USBWA Player of the Year Award."

This is the third national player of the year honor for Ionescu — so far. On Monday, she was named the unanimous player of the year selection by the Associated Press. She previously was named player of the year by

Also on Wednesday, Ionescu, Ruthy Hebard and Satou Sabally were named regional finalists for the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Division I coaches' All-America squad. That 10-player team will be announced April 2.

OSU gymnasts honored

Madi Dagen and Kaitlyn Yanish of Oregon State have been named honorable mention all-Pac-12 in gymnastics.

Dagen is a sophomore from Pleasanton, California. Yanish is a junior from Chandler, Arizona.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.