Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Oregon Ducks teammates Hebard, Sabally join her on WBCA All-America first team

PMG FILE PHOTO: JAIME VALDEZ - Oregon's Sabrina Ionescu, leading the offense for the Ducks, has been named winner of the Wade Trophy fo the 2019-20 season.

Thursday was another big day for the 2019-20 Oregon Ducks women's basketball program and for three members of the team, one in particular.

The one in particular: Sabrina Ionescu, of course.

The senior from Walnut Creek, California was named winner of the Wade Trophy — for the second year in a row, by the Women's Basketball Coaches' Association.

Ionescu and forwards/teammates Ruthy Hebard, a senior, and Satou Sabally, a junior leaving early for the WNBA draft, all made the WBCA's 10-player All-America team.

Oregon was the only schoool with more than one player on the top 10, and the Ducks are the first team since 2016-17 Connecticut to have three on the postseason list.

Ionescu is one of six players who have won the Wade Trophy twice. The others: Nancy Lieberman, Seimone Augustus, Brittney Griner, Breanna Stewart and Maya Moore.

"Sabrina had another historic season at Oregon and elevated her game and, in so doing, our sport as well," WBCA Executive Director Danielle M. Donehew said in a statement. "She is an incredibly talented student-athlete, leader and ambassador for women's basketball. Her mastery of so many skills coupled with her tremendous determination to succeed has excited the national media and fans alike, and has inspired the next generation of student-athletes."

With the WBCA selections, Ionescu and Hebard are consensus first-team All-Americans and Sabally is a consensus All-American.

Those three led the Ducks to a 31-2 season and Pac-12 regular-season and tournament titles. The NCAA Tournament was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The other WBCA Division I All-Americans for 2019-20: Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M; Lauren Cox, Baylor; Kathleen Doyle, Iowa; Dana Evans, Louisville; Tyasha Harris, South Carolina; Aari McDonald, Arizona; and Megan Walker, Connecticut.

Oregon State guards Mikayla Pivec and Destiny Slocam were namd WBCA honorable mention.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework