Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

FONT & AUDIO

MORE STORIES


Complete 2021 MLS slate revealed; team concludes preseason time in Tucson with 3-3 draw against Sporting KC.

The Portland Timbers came from behind to draw Sporting Kansas City 3-3 on Wednesday, March 24, wrapping up their 10-day stay in Tucson, Arizona.

But the big news Wednesday was the unveiling of the entire MLS 2021 schedule.

In the preseason match, Diego Valeri (penalty kick), Dairon Asprilla and Bill Tuiloma scored second-half goals for Portland, which trailed 2-0 and 3-1 in the second half.

The Timbers are 1-0-1 in preseason 90-minute games and will play Seattle on March 30 to conclude the preseason before kicking off the season with a Concacaf Champions League match in Honduras April 6 against CD Marathon.

Portland plays host to CD Marathon on April 13, opens MLS play away against Vancouver on April 18 and plays its first MLS home game on April 24 against Houston.

The club recently announced that it will welcome fans back to Providence Park at 25% of capacity. Season ticket holders will be contacted first about ticket options and the club does not expect tickets to be available to the general public until more fans are allowed to attend games.

The Timbers' matches with rival Seattle are slated for Providence Park on May 9 and Aug. 15 and at Lumen Field in Seattle on Aug. 29.

Portland will play 32 of its 34 games against Western Conference foes. The Timbers visit Philadelphia on May 30 and host Inter Miami on Oct. 3.

Visiting Portland twice will be Los Angeles FC, Real Salt Lake, San Jose and Seattle. The Timbers will play twice at expansion Austin FC, Houston, the LA Galaxy and Vancouver.

The first road game against the Whitecaps is the MLS opener on April 18, which will be played at Sandy, Utah, because of restricted travel between the United States and Canada.

The regular season concludes on Nov. 7 with a home game against Austin FC.

The MLS Cup playoffs begin No. 19 and conclude with the MLS Cup final on Dec. 11.

Here is the Timbers schedule, including their two Concacaf Champions League first-round games against Honduran club CD Marathon:

TIMBERS 2021 SCHEDULE

Tuesday, April 6 at CD Marathon, 3 p.m. (CCL)

Tuesday, April 13 vs. CD Marathon, 5 p.m. (CCL)

Sunday, April 18 at Vancouver, 7 p.m. (ROOT)

Saturday, April 24 vs. Houston, 7:30 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Saturday, May 1 at FC Dallas, 5 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Sunday, May 9 vs. Seattle, noon (KATU/ABC)

Saturday, May 15 at San Jose, 7 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Saturday, May 22 vs. LA Galaxy, 12:30 p.m. (KATU/ABC)

Sunday, May 30 at Philadelphia, 2:30 p.m. (FS1)

Saturday, June 19 vs. Sporting Kansas City, 7:30 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Wednesday, June 23 at Houston, 5:30 p.m. (ROOT)

Saturday, June 26 vs. Minnesota United, 7:30 p.m. (ROOT)

Saturday, July 3 at Austin FC, 6 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Saturday, July 17 vs. FC Dallas, 7:30 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Wednesday, July 21 vs. LAFC, 7:30 p.m. (ROOT)

Saturday, July 24 at Minnesota United, 5 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Friday, July 30 at LA Galaxy, 7 p.m. (ESPN)

Wednesday, Aug. 4 vs. San Jose, 7:30 p.m. (ROOT)

Saturday, Aug. 7 vs. Real Salt Lake, 7:30 p.m. (ROOT)

Sunday, Aug. 15 vs. Seattle, 5:30 p.m. (FS1)

Wednesday, Aug. 18 at Sporting Kansas City, 5:30 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Saturday, Aug. 21 at Austin FC (FOX 12 PLUS)

Sunday, Aug. 29 at Seattle, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN)

Friday, Sept. 3 at Houston, 5 p.m. (UniMas)

Friday, Sept. 10 at Vancouver, TBD (FOX 12 PLUS)

Wednesday, Sept. 15 vs. Colorado, 7 p.m. (ROOT)

Sunday, Sept. 19 vs. LAFC, 3 p.m. (FS1)

Saturday, Sept. 25 vs. Real Salt Lake, 7:30 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Wednesday, Sept. 29 at LAFC, 7 p.m. (FS1)

Sunday, Oct. 3 vs. Inter Miami, TBD (FS1)

Saturday, Oct. 16 at LA Galaxy, 7:30 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Wednesday, Oct. 20 vs. Vancouver, 7 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Saturday, Oct. 23 at Colorado, 6 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Wednesday, Oct. 27 vs. San Jose, 7 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)

Wednesday, Nov. 3 at Real Salt Lake, 6:30 p.m. (ROOT)

Sunday, Nov. 7 vs. Austin FC, 3 p.m. (FOX 12 PLUS)


You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework