Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



League to recognize inductees from 2020 and 2022 during afternoon vent Sunday, Oct. 16.

COURTESY PHOTO: PIL HALL OF FAME - The Portland Interscholastic League Hall of Fame will add 58 members during ceremony on Oct. 16 at the Lloyd Center Double Tree by Hilton.The 33rd Portland Interscholastic League Hall of Fame induction in the 122-year history of the league will welcome 58 members on Sunday, Oct. 16, adding classes for 2020 and 2022.

The event at the Double Tree by Hilton Lloyd Center, 1000 N.E. Multnomah St., begins at 4:30 p.m., with a social hour starting at 3:30 p.m.

Among the highlights of these two classes:

Four of the 56 athletes being inducted earned 12 letters, playing three varsity sports in each of their four high school years. They are Jennie Archambault, Lincoln Class of 2010 (soccer, basketball, and softball); Julie Grahn Hicks, Cleveland Class of 1994 (volleyball and basketball, three in softball, and one in track and field); Kathrine Kay Kersey Kee, Roosevelt Class of 1981, (gymnastics, track and field, three in basketball, and one in cross country); Chris Teuscher, Roosevelt Class of 2007, (boys soccer and baseball, two each in cross country and basketball).

The late Alicia Anne (Lisa) Broudous-Smith (Class of 1982) and her daughter Kayla Smith (Class of 2009), who both were PIL sprint and long jump champions 27 years apart at Benson High, are being inducted together.

The oldest inductees are brothers Joe Gray (Class of 1934) and Gene Gray Class of 1937), who starred in football and baseball at Roosevelt and later at Oregon State. Younger brother Dick Gray (Roosevelt Class of 1945, is a member of the PIL Hall and Oregon Sports Hall of Fame for his 38 season as Benson's boys basketball coach (five state titles).

Former Portland Tribune sports editor Steve Brandon, who was serving as secretary of the PIL Hall of Fame at the time of his death Sept. 9, will be honored with the Roy Love Distinguished Service Award. Elected secretary of the PIL Hall in January of this year, Brandon (Cleveland High Class of 1972) had completed 32 articles from interviews with present members of the PIL Hall of Fame at the time of his death at age 68.

PMG FILE PHOTO - Steve Brandon, who died Sept. 9, will be honored by the PIL Hall of Fame with the Roy Love Distignuished Service Award.The Roy Love Distinguished Service Award is named in honor of Cleveland High and Portland State hall of fame member Roy Love. A star pitcher at Cleveland, he coached at Cleveland and at Portland State and served as athletic director at Portland State and as president of the PIL Hall of Fame for 11 years before his death in 2019.

Tickets to the banquet cost $65 and can be reserved at There you will find more information about each of the inductees, including their sports and accomplishments.

Here, listed by school. are the inductees. They bring PIL Hall of Fame membership to 1,057, about half of whom are still alive:

ADAMS — Michael Booker, Class of 1972.

BENSON — Derek Baldwin, Class of 1989; Alicia Anne (Lisa) Broadous-Smith, Class of 1982; Crystal Hanson-Garrett, Class of 1988; Jay Miles, Class of 1990; Mandesa Milton-Tindal, Class of 1994; Kayla Smith, Class of 2009; Sheila Williams-Buncom, Class of 1988.

CLEVELAND — Mike Gilgan, Class of 1962; Julie Grahn Hicks, Class of 1994; Ashley Sammis Schroeder, Class of 2001; Anna Kate (AK) Sitz-Peterson, Class of 2000.

FRANKLIN — Rufus Dean-Bey, Class of 1990; Wilbert G. Hardy, Jr., Class of 1975; Dan Weden, Class of 1990.

GRANT — Kenneth Acker, Class of 2010; Josh Miller, Class of 2012; Bree Mosbauer Norick, Class of 1998; Dan Percich, Class of 1970; Paul Raglione, Class of 2005; Dominic Waters, Class of 2005.

JACKSON — Michael Bergmann, Class of 1974; David Pattee, Class of 1974.

JEFFERS0N — Janita Badon, Class of 2008; Charles Channel, Class of 1972; Ron 'Sugah' Cole, Class of 1973; Marcus J. Irving, Class of 1972; Charles Redeau, Class of 1978; Marvin L. Sanders, Class of 1978.

LINCOLN — Jennie Archambault, Class of 2010; Peter Baum, Class of 2009; Henry Furman, Class of 2010; Gavin Hoffman, Class of 2011; Kylee Muir, Class of 2009; Peter Williams, Class of 2011.

MADISON — William 'Bill' Booth, Class of 1976; Tim Conklin, Class of 1993; Kelly Ford, Class of 1987; Stephen Krohn, Class of 1968; Tammy Laird, Class of 1985; Bill Uhle, Class of 1970.

MARSHALL — Rochelle Anderson-Teeny, Class of 1979; Ronald L. Cuie, Class of 1972; Steven Geiszler, Class of 1993; Chris McBride, Class of 1983; Jason Toberg, Class of 1973.

ROOSEVELT — Joe Gray, Class of 1934; Gene Gray, Class of 1937; Kathrine Kay Kersey Kee, Class of 1981; Randy Ryerson, Class of 1982; Chris Teuscher, Class of 2007; Jackson Winters, Class of 1947.

WASHINGTON — Matt Jones, Class of 1964.

WILSON — Ryan Hoarfrost, Class of 2006; Alicia Provost, coached Wilson volleyball and softball; Gary Rubin, Class of 1985; Jim Smith, Class of 1961.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top