Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Grant and Jefferson sweep top honors after a first and second place finish in the PIL standings.

PMG PHOTO: JONATHAN HOUSE - Jefferson football's Jeray Mott Jr. (6) runs with the ball against Lincoln on Oct. 21, 2022, at Ida B. Wells High School. Mott was named the Offensive Player of the Year for the PIL.

The end of the fall season means it's time for leagues to announce their choices for the top players from the 2022 season.

Football for the Portland Interscholastic League saw Grant took home the league title to make the 6A state tournament while Jefferson and Roosevelt made the inaugural Columbia Cup. The Generals lost in round one to top seed West Linn while Roosevelt lost to Clackamas in round one and Jefferson fell to North Salem in round two.

Here's a closer look at the players who made the all-league lists out of the local conferences:

Top honors

Offensive Player of the Year: Jeray Mott Jr., Jefferson, senior

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Jayden Moses, Grant, senior

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Sanbourne Melson, Jefferson, senior

Coach of the Year: Alex Melson, Grant

First team

Kellen Segel, Grant, senior, quarterback

Emmett Togni, Lincoln, junior, running back

Dontrell Betts, Roosevelt, sophomore, running back

Jayden Moses, Grant, senior, tight end

Nywaun Campbell, Roosevelt, senior, tight end

Dylan Dinh, Grant, senior, center

Everett Martin, Jefferson, senior, center

Owen Wilson, Grant, senior, guard

Pede Gonzales, Jefferson, senior, guard

Will Davis, Franklin, senior, tackle

Chuck Bohart, Grant, senior, tackle

Max Wallace, Franklin, junior, wide receiver

Milan Clark, Grant, senior, wide receiver

D'Marieon Gates, Jefferson, sophomore, wide receiver

Jeray Mott Jr., Jefferson, senior, wide receiver

Donovan Ferguson, Jefferson, senior, offensive utility

Robert Anthony III, Roosevelt, junior, offensive utility

Milan Clark, Grant, senior, defensive back

Marshune Waters, Grant, senior, defensive back

Jeray Mott Jr., Jefferson, senior, defensive back

Sanbourne Melson, Jefferson, senior, defensive back

Myquis Fesser, Roosevelt, senior, defensive back

Diego Galvez, Franklin, senior, linebacker

Dexter Foster, Roosevelt, junior, linebacker

Jayden Moses, Grant, senior, linebacker

Parker Feld-Gore, Wells, senior, linebacker

Benson Deible, Grant, junior, defensive lineman

Pedo Gonzales, Jefferson, senior, defensive lineman

Moroni Seely-Roberts, Lincoln, senior, defensive lineman

Aisea Takau, Roosevelt, senior, defensive lineman

Nywaun Campbell, Roosevelt, senior, defensive lineman

Donovan Ferguson, Jefferson, senior, defensive utility

Gus Johnson, Wells, senior, defensive utility

Andrew Gray, Grant, senior, kicker

Kellen Segel, Grant, senior, punter

PMG PHOTO: JOHN LARIVIERE - Grant football's Jayden Moses carries the ball against Southridge on Sept. 9, 2022, at Southridge High School. Moses was named co-Defensive Player of the Year for the PIL along with Jefferson's Sanbourne Melson.

Second team

Will Reid, Franklin, junior, quarterback

Parker Feld-Gore, Wells, senior, quarterback

Jerimiah Fuller, Grant, senior, running back

J'Sean McIver, Jefferson, junior, running back

Wyatt Andler, Wells, sophomore, running back

Dexter Foster, Roosevelt, junior, tight end

Alex Smith, Roosevelt, senior, center

Michael Kuehnel, Wells, junior, center

Bram Goldsmith, Lincoln, junior, guard

Vai Takau, Roosevelt, sophomore, guard

Ethan Johnson, Lincoln, senior, tackle

Aisea Takau, Roosevelt, senior, tackle

Dakota Hoffart, Grant, senior, wide receiver

Montral Brazile Jr., Jefferson, junior, wide receiver

Marshune Waters, Grant, senior, offensive utility

Tommy Pempel, Lincoln, junior, offensive utility

D'Marieon Gates, Jefferson, sophomore, defensive back

Montral Brazile Jr., Jefferson, junior, defensive back

Kamari Ransom, Jefferson, senior, defensive back

Kiva Jackson, Roosevelt, junior, defensive back

Emmett Davis, Wells, senior, defensive back

Andrew Gray, Grant, senior, defensive back

Thomas Browning, Grant, sophomore, linebacker

J'Sean McIver, Jefferson, junior, linebacker

Ronald Woods, Roosevelt, junior, linebacker

Royal Bowden, Jefferson, junior, defensive lineman

Lamar Stewart, Jefferson, freshman, defensive lineman

Tau Takau, Roosevelt, sophomore, defensive lineman

Tyler Moore, Grant, senior, defensive utility

Thien Hoang, Lincoln, senior, kicker

Josyah Clark Anderson, Jefferson, junior, punter

Honorable mention

Brave Johnson, Jefferson, sophomore, quarterback

Ben Weiner, Roosevelt, senior, quarterback

Josiah Heintzman, Franklin, junior, running back

Marcu Rouse, Grant, sophomore, running back

Emmett Davis, Wells, senior, tight end

Abram Redlock, Franklin, senior, center

Zamani Harris-Muldrew, Grant, junior, guard

Shankara Carson, Wells, junior, guard

Graham Spencer, Cleveland, sophomore, tackle

Terrence Quinn, Wells, senior, tackle

Colden Carson, Wells, junior, tackle

Ethan Aman, Franklin, junior, wide receiver

Jamel Pichon, Cleveland, senior, offensive utility

Joey Irish, Cleveland, senior, defensive back

Hank Blaha, Cleveland, sophomore, defensive back

Dylan Iwanaga, Lincoln, senior, defensive back

Johnny Hale, Cleveland, senior, linebacker

Jeremiah Fuller, Grant, senior, linebacker

Marselis Griffiths, Wells, junior, linebacker

Abram Redlock, Franklin, senior, defensive lineman

Emile Cantrell-Moore, Grant, junior, defensive lineman

Vission Farguheson Hunter, Wells, senior, defensive lineman

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top