Proposal for 5 levels scrapped; Portland schools face few changes in current alignment draft


It'll be six classifications for the next four years, if the Oregon School Activities Association classification committee's latest recommendation is adopted.

The committee has scrapped an alternative proposal to drop to five classifications for the next four-year time block (20-18-22).

The committee made its decision after testimony from 24 athletic directors representing all six classifications during conferences April 24 at Sunriver, along with considering other comments on the proposals.OSAA COMMITTEE SUPPORTS 6 CLASSIFICATIONS

While 6A athletic directors strongly favored going to five classifications, the ADs at every other level were solidly in support of keeping the current system.

At 5A, the vote was 22-3 in favor of maintaining six classifications. At 4A, the vote was 32-6 in favor of the status quo. At 3A, the present setup was favored, 21-19. At 2A, ADs voted 19-7 for sticking with six classifications.

The committee will meet again May 22 at the OSAA offices in Wilsonville and wants to focus on what will be the cutoff enrollment points for each classification, along with league alignments and which schools will go in what leagues.

The proposed 6A breakdown remains in draft form and is not the final recommendation to the OSAA Executive Board. That will be considered by the board on Oct. 16.

The latest draft, though, includes few changes for Portland schools.

The nine-school Portland Interscholastic League would remain intact in 6A.

Jesuit would be in a seven-team Metro League to included the new Mountainside High.

Central Catholic would be in a six-team Mt. Hood Conference, joined by Centennial, Clackamas, David Douglas, Oregon City and Reynolds, with Barlow and Gresham moving to a new Inter County Conference to include Bend, Hermiston, Mountain View and Summit.

St. Mary's Academy would be back in basically the same league — named the Southwest Metro — with Canby, Lake Oswego, Lakeridge, Tigard, Tualatin and West Linn (while Newberg would be in the revamped Three Rivers League with Century, Forest Grove, Glencoe, Liberty and Sherwood).

Parkrose would stay in the 5A Northwest Oregon Conference; La Salle Prep would drop to the 4A Cowapa League, which also would consist of Astoria, Corbett, Gladstone, Seaside, Tillamook and Valley Catholic.

The 3A Lewis & Clark League would have Banks, Catlin Gabel, Clatskanie, De La Salle North Catholic, Oregon Episcopal School, Portland Adventist Academy, Rainier, Riverdale, Warrenton and Yamhill-Carlton.

Portland Christian would drop from 3A to 2A and become a member of the Northwest League. Other NWL schools would be City Christian, Columbia Christian, Gaston, Faith Bible, Neah-Kah-Nie, Nestucca, Knappa and Vernonia.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine