Henry Mong, Khiarica Rasheed lead list of Sportsmen and Sportswomen; Frank Matthews, Kendra Gardner, Michael Vasbinder win coaching awards

TRIBUNE PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Henry Mong of Franklin High wins the state championship at 1,500 meters during the Class 6A meet at Hayward Field. Mong, who also won the state 800 title, has been named the Sportsman of the Year in the Portland Interscholastic League.The Portland Interscholastic League recognized its top teams, athletes and coaches from 2016-17 last week at the 19th annual Celebration of Champions.

The event took place at Nike's Tiger Woods Center.

League and state championship teams and individuals also were recognized.

And, the winners of some premier league awards were announced.

Here's a list of the top honors presented:

To read the full version of this story...
Click HERE to continue to the Portland Tribune.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine