Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



With the filing deadline now closed for the May 17 Primary, here's a look at dozens of races across Washington County.

Listed below are filings for Washington County offices as of the deadline Tuesday. Candidates may withdraw by 5 p.m. Friday, March 11.

Washington County

Countywide candidates

(Four-year terms, except as indicated)

Commissioner District 1 (Part of Beaverton, Aloha, Cooper Mountain, Reedville): Dick Schouten of Beaverton, incumbent, elected 2000.

Commissioner District 3 (Durham, King City, Sherwood, Tigard, Tualatin, part of Wilsonville): Roy Rogers of Tigard, incumbent, elected 1984; Glendora Claybrooks of Tualatin.

Sheriff: Pat Garrett, incumbent, served since 2011. If he receives a majority in the primary, he will be deemed elected.

Justice of the Peace (six-year term): Dan Cross; Kevin Kelley. The incumbent since 1991, James Shartel, is not running.

Washington County ballot measures

34-243: Countywide bond issue for $77 million for upgrades to emergency radio communications system.

34-244: City of Sherwood charter amendment to require voter approval of residential taxes and fees.

To be designated: Gaston School District bond issue.

Washington County Circuit Court

(Six-year terms)

Position 1: Ted Sims, newly appointed; Tim Marble.

Position 4: Eric Butterfield, served since 2010.

Position 10: Suzanne Upton, served since 1999.

Metro Council

(Four-year terms)

Councilor District 3 (parts of Washington and Clackamas counties): Craig Dirksen of Tigard, incumbent, elected 2012; Gerritt Rosenthal of Tualatin.

Councilor District 5 (North and Northwest Portland, also part of Washington County): Sam Chase of Portland, incumbent, elected 2012; Colby Clipston of Portland.

Oregon Legislature

Oregon Senate

(Four-year terms; list includes only districts with parts of Washington County)

District 12 (Covers parts of Washington and four other counties):

Republican: Brian Boquist of Dallas, incumbent, elected 2008; also in House 2005-09.

Democrat: Ross Swartzendruber of Salem.

District 14 (Beaverton, Aloha, Raleigh Hills, West Slope):

Democrat: Mark Hass of Raleigh Hills, incumbent, served since 2008; also in House 2001-07.

Republican: None filed.

District 18 (Tigard, Metgzer, Portland):

Democrat: Ginny Burdick of Portland, incumbent, elected 1996.

Republican: None filed.

Oregon House of Representatives

(Two-year terms; list includes only districts with parts of Washington County)

District 24 (Part of Hillsboro, Cornelius, Farmington, Scholls):

Republican: Ron Noble of McMinnville. The Republican incumbent is Jim Weidner of Yamhill, who is leaving.

Democrat: Ken Moore of Yamhill.

District 26 (Sherwood, Wilsonville, Bull Mountain, King City, Aloha):

Republicans: John Boylston of King City, A. Richard Vial of Hillsboro, Matt Wingard of Wilsonville. The Republican incumbent, John Davis of Wilsonville, is leaving.

Democrats: Ray Lister, Patrick Whewell, both of Wilsonville.

District 27 (Beaverton, Raleigh Hills, West Slope):

Democrats: Darin Campbell of Portland, Sheri Malstrom of Beaverton. The Democratic incumbent is Tobias Read of Beaverton, who is running for state treasurer.

Republican: None filed.

District 28 (Aloha, Beaverton):

Democrat: Jeff Barker of Aloha, incumbent, elected 2002.

Republicans: Gary Carlson, Daniel Martin, both of Aloha; Alton Mozingo II of Beaverton.

District 29 (Forest Grove, Cornelius, Hillsboro):

Democrat: Susan McLain of Forest Grove, incumbent, elected 2014.

Republican: Juanita Lint of Forest Grove.

District 30 (Orenco, Hillsboro, Glencoe, Helvetia):

Democrats: Janeen Sollman of Hillsboro. The Democratic incumbent is Joe Gallegos of Hillsboro, who is not running.

Republican: Dan Mason of Hillsboro.

District 31 (Primarily Columbia County, as well as Linnton, West Union, Bethany):

Democrat: Brad Witt of Scappoose, incumbent, served since 2005.

Republican: None filed.

District 32 (Primarily Tillamook and Clatsop counties, as well as Forest Grove):

Democrat: Debbie Boone of Cannon Beach, incumbent, elected 2004.

Republican: Bruce Bobek of Astoria.

District 33 (Bethany, Oak Hills, Cedar Mill, Bonny Slope):

Democrat: Mitch Greenlick of Portland, incumbent, elected 2002.

Republican: John Verbeek of Portland.

District 34 (Rock Creek, Tanasbourne, Beaverton, Elmonica, Cedar Hills):

Democrat: Ken Helm of Beaverton, incumbent, elected 2014.

Republican: Donald Hershiser of Portland.

District 35 (Tigard, Metzger):

Democrat: Margaret Doherty of Tigard, incumbent, served since 2009.

Republican: None filed.

Independent: Jessica Cousineau of Tigard.

District 37 (Tualatin, Stafford, Rivergrove, West Linn):

Republican: Julie Parrish of West Linn, incumbent, elected 2010.

Democrat: Paul Southwick of Tualatin.


(Terms as indicated)

U.S. Senate

(Six year terms)

Democrats: Ron Wyden of Portland, incumbent, elected 1996, also in U.S. House 1981-96; Kevin H. Stine of Medford, Paul B. Weaver of Toledo.

Republicans: Mark Callahan of Portland, Sam Carpenter of Bend, Dan Laschober of Wilsonville, Faye Stewart of Cottage Grove.

Independent Party: Steven C. Reynolds of Portland, Marvin Sannes of Salem.

U.S. House of Representatives

(Two year terms)

District 1 (Includes Washington County, part of Multnomah):

Democrats: Suzanne Bonamici of Beaverton, incumbent, elected 2012; Shabba Woodley of Beaverton.

Republican: Jonathan Burgess of Tigard, Brian Heinrich of Dundee, Delinda Morgan of Gaston.

Editor's Note: This story has been updated to include filings for state legislative seats and judgeships; adds U.S. Congress. Updates with withdrawal of Democratic Rep. Joe Gallegos.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework