Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



A DHM Research poll released in December strongly suggests the measure must fund a mix of projects that promise to reduce congestion for it to have any chance of passing.

PORTLAND TRIBUNE FILE PHOTO - Vehicles line up on Southwest Barbur Boulevard preparing to mege onto I-5.Metro has appointed a 35-member Transportation Funding Task Force to advise it on a regional measure aimed for the November 2020 ballot.

It's first meeting is scheduled for 6 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 27, at Metro's headquarters, 600 NE Grand Ave, Portland.

The elected regional government is looking at referring the measure to voters to help finance the Southwest Corridor MAX line and pay for other transportation and transit projects in Multnomah, Washington and Clackamas counties.

The task force — also called TF2 — will spend the next 15 months identifying potential projects to be funded by the measure. A DHM Research poll released by Metro in December strongly suggests the measure must fund a mix of projects that promise to reduce congestion for it to have any chance of passing.

It is co-chaired by two elected regional leaders, Multnomah County Commissioner Jessica Vega Pedersonco and Washington County Commissioner Pam Treece.

Vega Pederson, a former state representative, is the lead for addressing seismic issues on Multnomah County-owned Willamette River bridges built long before scientists knew about Oregon's earthquake hazards.

Treece is the executive director of the Westside Economic Alliance, the primary business advocacy organization for Washington and Western Clackamas counties.

The Metro Council has discussed a three-part structure for the regional investment measure, with two components focusing on a system of key transportation corridors, and one component focusing on region-wide investments. Corridors are defined as "major multimodal travel routes that connect and serve neighborhood, town and regional centers, employment lands, and industrial centers, within the metropolitan boundary."

The other task force members are: Michael Alexander, former Urban League director; Hillary Barbour, Burgerville director of strategic initiatives; Shane Bemis, Mayor of Gresham; Jim Bernard, Clackamas County Chair; Emerald Bogue, Port of Portland government affairs director; Steve Callaway, Mayor of Hillsboro; Leslie Carlson, board chair, The Street Trust; Marie Dodds, AAA Oregon; Denny Doyle, Mayor of Beaverton; Debra Dunn, former Oregon Truckers Association executive director Andrea Durbin, former Oregon Environmental Council executive director and director of the Portland Bureau of Planning and Sustainability;

Chloe Eudaly, Portland City Commissioner; Lew Frederick, Oregon State Senator; Elaine Friesen-Strang, President, Oregon AARP' Mark Gamba, Mayor of Milwaukie

Mary Ellen Glynn, Columbia Sportswear corporate communications director; Sheila Greenlaw-Fink, housing advocate; Kayse Jama, executive director of Unite Oregon; Tim Knapp, Mayor of Wilsonville; Nolan Lienhart, ZGF Architects; Amanda Manjarrez, advocacy director at Latino Network; Nate McCoy, Oregon director of National Association of Minority Contractors; Diane McKeel, Mt. Hood Community College board; Susan McLain, Oregon State Representative; Marcus Mundy, director, Coalition of Communities of Color; Chi Nguyen, executive director, APANO; Dave Robertson, PGE government affairs; Vivian Satterfield, Verde director of strategic partnerships; Linda Simmons, TriMet board member; Nate Stokes, International Union of Operating Engineers Local 701 field representative supervisor; Bob Van Brocklin, Oregon Transportation Commissioner; Gregg Weston, president, Clackamas County Business Alliance; and Kathryn Williams, government relations, NW Natural.

You can read a previous Portland Tribune story on the issue here.

Quality local journalism takes time and money, which comes, in part, from paying readers. If you enjoy articles like this one, please consider supporting us.
(It costs just a few cents a day.)

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine