Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



An incumbent Democrat in the House and one in the Senate also face primary challengers.

PMG FILE PHOTO - The Oregon Capitol. Tuesday's primary will go a long way to determine who will fill seven metro-area seats that Democrats are vacating in the Oregon House, and whether an incumbent metro-area Democrat will return to the House.

At least 12 of the 60 House seats will see new faces as a result of the 2020 elections. Nine Democrats and three Republicans have chosen not to run for new two-year terms.

The Senate will see at least four new faces. Three Democrats — two from the metro area — and one Republican are vacating their seats. A total of 16 seats are up in 2020; one is for the two years remaining in the term of Jackie Winters, a Republican from Salem who died a year ago. The other 15 are for four-year terms.

Democrats now lead Republicans in the House, 38-22, and in the Senate, 18-12. In the House, 29 Democratic incumbents and 19 Republican incumbents are running, counting appointees; in the Senate, eight Republican incumbents and four Democratic incumbents.

The seven open metro-area House seats up in contested Democratic primaries:

• District 28, being vacated by Jeff Barker of Aloha after nine terms. Democrats are Alisa Blum, Jacob Bride, Wlnsvey Campos and Ramon Velji. Daniel Martin is unopposed for the Republican nomination.

• District 33, being vacated by Mitch Greenlick of Portland after nine terms. Democrats are Serin Bussell, Maxine Dexter, Andy Saultz and Christina Stephenson. This district covers Northwest Portland and Washington County north of the Sunset Highway, mostly unincorporated communities north of Beaverton. Dick Courter is unopposed for the Republican nomination.

• District 35, being vacated by Margaret Doherty of Tigard after five terms. Democrats are Keenan Casavant and Dacia Grayber. This district covers Tigard and part of Multnomah County. Bob Niemeyer is unopposed for the Republican nomination. He also ran against Doherty in 2018.

• District 36, where appointee Akasha Lawrence Spence is not seeking election. Jennifer Williamson held it for four terms before she resigned to make a now-ended bid for secretary of state. Democrats are Rob Fullmer, Adam Meyer, Lisa Reynolds and Laurie Wimmer. This district covers Southwest Portland, but does not cross the county line. James Ball is unopposed for the Republican nomination.

• District 46, being vacated by Alissa Keny-Guyer after five terms. Democrats are Jeff Cogen, Shawn MacArthur and Khanh Pham. This district covers part of Southeast Portland, including Laurelhurst, Montavilla, Mount Tabor, South Tabor, Foster-Powell, Mount Scott-Arleta and part of Lents. No Republican filed.

• District 49, being vacated by Chris Gorsek of Troutdale after four terms to run for the Senate. Zach Hudson is the Democrat and Joe Demers is the Republican; they will face off in November. The district covers Troutdale, Fairview, Wood Village and part of Gresham.

• District 50, being vacated by Carla Piluso of Gresham after three terms. Democrats are William Miller and Ricky Ruiz. The district covers Gresham. Amelia Salvador is unopposed for the Republican nomination.

In addition, state Rep. Rob Nosse, a Democrat from inner Southeast Portland, faces a primary challenge from Paige Kreisman for the District 42 seat Nosse has held since mid-2014. The district takes in part of Northeast Portland. No Republican filed.

Democrats also have contested races for nominations in two open coastal seats. Caddy McKeown of Coos Bay is vacating the District 9 seat after four terms, and Tiffiny Mitchell of Astoria the District 32 seat after one term.

Republicans have three open House seats to fill with the departures of Greg Barreto of Cove, three terms in District 58; Sherrie Sprenger of Scio, six terms in District 17, and Carl Wilson of Grants Pass, five terms in District 3.

In the Senate, Democrats Kate Lieber and Dick Schouten are seeking the District 14 seat that Democrat Mark Hass of Beaverton is vacating after three terms in a bid for secretary of state. Harmony Mulkey is unopposed for the Republican nomination. That district extends from Multnomah County into Beaverton and Aloha.

For the District 25 seat that Democrat Laurie Monnes Anderson of Gresham is vacating after four terms, Democratic Rep. Chris Gorsek of Troutdale and Republican Justin Hwang are unopposed for their party nominations in the primary. They ran against each other for the House District 49 seat in 2018.

The other open Senate seats are in District 2, where Republican Herman Baertschiger of Grants Pass is running for Josephine County commissioner after two terms, and District 5, where Democrat Arnie Roblan of Coos Bay is retiring after two terms. Roblan also was in the House eight years, the last two as House co-speaker.

Democratic Sen. Ginny Burdick of Portland faces a primary challenge from Ben Bowman of Tigard for the District 18 seat she has held for 24 years. No Republican filed.

The other metro-area senators up this cycle are Democrats Michael Dembrow and Lew Frederick of Portland and Kathleen Taylor of Milwaukie, all unopposed.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

NOTE: Corrects errors in identification of House District 49 candidates.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework