Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Five of the seven positions on the PCC Board of Directors will be on the May 21 special election ballot.

COURTESY PHOTO: PCC - Portland Community College Board of Directors zone boundaries.Five of the seven positions of the Portland Community College Board of Directors are up for election on May 21.

The position on the special election ballot will be Zone 1, where the incumbent is not seeking reelection, and Zone 4; Zone 5; Zone 6; and Zone 7, which is for the unexpired term of a vacant seat.

This is the largest number of board seats up for election at the same time ever, prompting the state's largest community college to hold two online open houses for interested candidates.

The open houses will be held from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 19, and from 10 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. on Friday, March 5.

They will be hosted for by Chair Mohamed Alyajouri (Zone 6), Vice Chair Tiffani Penson (Zone 2), Secretary Denise Frisbee (Zone 1) and President Mark Mitsui.

The board consists of seven members elected by zones to four-year terms. Board members govern the college, which includes selecting the president, approving the college budget and establishing policies that govern the operation of the college.

More information on the board and the open houses can be found at

Portland Community College is the largest post-secondary institution in Oregon. It provides training, degree and certificate completion, and lifelong learning to more than 60,000 full- and part-time students in Multnomah, Washington, Yamhill, Clackamas and Columbia counties. The college has four comprehensive campuses, eight education centers or areas served, and approximately 200 community locations in the Portland metropolitan area. The PCC district encompasses a 1,500-square-mile area in northwest Oregon.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework