Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Because of a change in Oregon election laws, official final numbers might not be known for several days.

PMG PHOTO: JAIME VALDEZ - Early leads: Metro President Lynn Peterson, left, and Portland City Commissioner Jo Ann Hardesty had good nights in their bids for re-election on Tuesday.Ballots are still being counted in local, county, regional and statewide May primary election races.

But there's a twist for this election season: Under a new state law, ballots mailed on election day count. So Oregonians might know all winners before the weekend, or perhaps longer.

As of Wednesday, results so far include:

In the Democratic and Republican races for governor: Tina Kotek and Christine Drazan jump to early leads.

• Voters in new 6th District are favoring Democrat Andrea Salinas and Republican Mike Erickson.

• Rep. Schrader is trailing — but with a lot of votes yet to be counted — in bid to retain his 5th District seat

• In the races for Portland City Hall: Commissioner Jo Ann Hardesty could be forced into run-off, prompting sparring among the potential candidates, whileCommissioner Dan Ryan has been re-elected.

Jessica Vega Pederson is currently ahead in the race for Multnomah County chair.

Metro President Lynn Peterson appears headed for reelection, while incumbents easily win Metro council and auditor seats.

• Nicole Morrisey O'Donnell has been elected Multnomah County Sheriff.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework